Junk Ride


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
November 11th 2012
Published: December 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

One thing I've wanted to do since the first time I visited HK in 2008 is take a junk boat ride. But since I usually made my visits last-minute or had other things to do, it never happened. Plus I wasn't sure how to take the boat ride but figured it was quite expensive.

Luckily for me, one of my friends in HK (a Hong Konger, no less), just figured out how to do this last spring! When I saw her photos online, I immediately said, "Next time I visit, let's do this!" She agreed.

It's about 200 HKD a person, but that includes an hour long ride and a drink. We opted to take the harbor cruise at night when everything was lit up, including the boat's sails. We got on at TST because my friend said she thought that ride would be a bit longer than if we boarded in Central. (I'm not sure why, since the boat goes in a circle around the harbor, but I trust her.)

It was spectacular. Like everyone else on the boat, we were excited. And like everyone else, we couldnt' stop taking photos. Photos with the sails, photos with the buildings behind us, photos with the boat, photos with each other, with each other and the sails... it was endless.

We were fortunate enough that many (not all) of the buildings had already started putting up their holiday displays. Normally, I get irritated if someone puts up Xmas decorations before Dec 1. But not this time! Seeing some of those lights up on the sides of the buildings--mostly in TST--made the trip even more special.

It was an amazing experience I will not soon forget. It was worth waiting as long as I did!


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

KowloonKowloon
Kowloon

Lit up for Xmas
Kowloon Kowloon
Kowloon

Lit up for Xmas


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb