Hong Kong Is Awesome


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
January 16th 2012
Published: January 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Okay the 5 week vacation is officially in progress!!! Woke up on sunday and grabbed my stuff after I spent 3 days cleaning because well you know how it is(at least with me, I didn't want science experiments growing in my house). Anyways, so left at 8 am and got a taxi, but in wuhan getting a taxi on a holiday is never an easy process. walked about 12 minutes and it took another 15 min to grab a taxi(even with Jenny(who speaks mandrin fluently)). So we are in the taxi and the driver goes to the police station beside the airport and is like oh this is not the airport, uuuh duh clearly it is the police station!! So then we turn around a little bit and he says that he can not go straight to the airport even though it is clear that other cars are going straight. The logic of Taxi's in China is never clear, I am sure it is not even clear to themselves. So we are like wahatever lets just get get out, so we pay the guy get out and go into the air port, not realizing that wuhan has one building for domestic and another a 3 min walk down the road a bit for international flights (which is smaller than the abbotsford airport). China is so backwards nothing is forward its like eveyone in the country said okay this is how the rest of the world does it lets do it the complete other way just to confuse the hell out of everyone. Anyways so we go to the airport and wait for like an hour then we go to get on the plan, we do this by hopping on a shuttle and (I am not klidding) take like a 2 second drive (okay maybe a 10 second) to the other side of the grass where the plane is waiting. So we get on the plane and do not take off for 3 hours. We were STUCK on the stinking plane for like 2.5 hours. This is the most ridiculus thing I have ever seen. I mean come on. Anyways we arrive in Hongkong and its amazing its like it is not even China. I stepped off of the plane and it was like I entered civilization again. I left civilization on Aug 27 2011 and re-entered it on January 15 2012.

Okay so Today I went to the peak,womens street, used the star ferry twice, tonight I will probably go on the night big bus tour and temple street night market. Ohhh and I ate at bubba gumps, had a pina colada(see civilization). Ohhhh and there are TOILETS all over HK with TP , see totally back in civilization. I LOVE hong Kong. Anyways will post pics once my computer is up and running. Need to run out and get an adapter that works.

Will post again soon.

Later


Additional photos below
Photos: 73, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Tsim Sha SuiTsim Sha Sui
Tsim Sha Sui

Outside a building I saw this morning.
Star Ferry ViewStar Ferry View
Star Ferry View

me sucking at taking a self image
Star FerryStar Ferry
Star Ferry

View outside the star ferry this morning
The peakThe peak
The peak

On the top of the galleria mall
Star Ferry ViewStar Ferry View
Star Ferry View

best one, sad I know :(
The peakThe peak
The peak

On the top of the galleria mall


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb