DAY 2 - STANLEY MARKETS


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
January 28th 2010
Published: January 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Spanish Hourly HotelThe Spanish Hourly HotelThe Spanish Hourly Hotel

Mong Kok - what is this used for?
Day 2 - 28th January 2010

After not sleeping AT ALL on Wednesday night, I got up early to check mail. Then we met for breakfast. The buffet was wonderful with a really good variety.
It was then onto the hotel shuttle to Mong Kok MTR to go the Stanley and the markets there.
I had warned Shan and Faye about the white nuckle ride, I think they thought I was exaggerating, but oh no -the drivers here only have one speed - super fast and reckless! AND they weren't sitting up top, couldn't convince them to!
The trip down is spectacular but very winding and narrow.
Arrived and did some souvenir shopping. Not much for myself.
We enjoyed haagen da ice cream and milk shakes ($5aud and $7 aud each!
Back on the bus to Aberdeen to have a harbour sampan ride and have yum cha at Jumbo Floating restaurant.
I mentioned the cost of the ice creams as it was so funny our lunch with drinks only cost us $10 each!
The sampan ride wasn't memorable as our guide, who hassled us from the moment we set foot near the dock could not speak english!
Lunch was beautiful,
Momg KokMomg KokMomg Kok

Just near the MTR
we had 3 dishes and sticky rice (we learnt from last night not to over order!).
Back on the bus to central thinking we would go to the Peak. But it was very misty and we decided to give it a miss. Lucky, as 15 minutes later, the fog was so bad we couldn't even see across the harbour!
Caught the star ferry back to Kowloon. Shan was in window shoppers heaven - Dior, Tiffany's, coach etc! Oh to dream :-)
By this time I could hardly walk, the leg pain was so bad, so onto the bus back to the hotel. It stops right in front!
It was our free happy hour in the club lounge, so off we went for a sit down and relax.
Really nice food and free drinks with a great choice. We all decided to have baileys on ice (all free). The waiter obviously wasn't familiar with serving it - we each got a red wine glass full with only a few pieces of ice! Me - drinking! Thought it might help me sleep -no. I have had about 3 hours sleep, it is 5am here at the moment.
We will wait and see
on the MTRon the MTRon the MTR

My stick got me a seat!
what the weather holds today before deciding what to do. It was very humid yesterday but very pleasant temperature.
Each night we get 2 chocolates on our bed with a little card telling us what the weather is for the next day - it is supposed to be cloudy.
Hope the leg holds out today, I have a blister on my hand from the walking stick, lucky I have it, I could not have walked at all without it.
I will add some photos when I can, so keep looking back at the previous posts as well.
Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

In CentralIn Central
In Central

The start of my building photo taking
no room for tree rootsno room for tree roots
no room for tree roots

Growing on walls, not the ground. At Stanley market
Aberdeen HarbourAberdeen Harbour
Aberdeen Harbour

just before our sanpan ride
yum cha at Jumboyum cha at Jumbo
yum cha at Jumbo

REALLY NICE!
beautiful even in the fogbeautiful even in the fog
beautiful even in the fog

wan chai from central
starbucks on the star ferrystarbucks on the star ferry
starbucks on the star ferry

cold! And the boat was really rolling!
Our first days purchasesOur first days purchases
Our first days purchases

not bad for a day!
Our first visit to the club loungeOur first visit to the club lounge
Our first visit to the club lounge

We asked for baileys on ice!!!!!! Hardly any ice, red wine glass full!
I don't drink - I swear!I don't drink - I swear!
I don't drink - I swear!

Hoping it would make me sleep - no chance!


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb