Kong Hong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
February 22nd 2006
Published: February 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bus RideBus RideBus Ride

back from the airport. Good to see my boytjie!
HONG KONG. Well the first thing that struck me driving over the border from Shenzen was the stacks of high rise flats all along the freeway. They looked terrible, such appalling living conditions. I expected to drive in there and just be blown away my big shiny buildings. I imagine that all the people that work in the restaurants and the markets live in these buildings. But anyway, I ended up finding one of the cheapest places in HK to stay, Chung King mansions on the Kowloon peninsula. After putting my bags down and having a shower I went to the one of the many Indian food places in my building and had chicken massala with naan and rice. Oh it was music to my mouth. So nice not to be eating noodles and this food was good, I mean really good. That night I met up with this acquaintance Mandy and she took me out for a bit, had a good time. I could not play pool to save my life though. Ryan(my boy from RSA) flew in the next day. Went to the airport and had some sushi from 7 Eleven whilst I waited, it was darn good. Gave
KlippiesKlippiesKlippies

yosses this was one hell of a bad idea, just ask the taxi driver that drove me home.
my boy a hug, sat down and cracked open a Carlsberg. Had another one on the way back to the hotel. Partied like rock stars that night. Got pulled into strip joints, drank Chinese snake 45 % booze, Ryan spoke to many a hooker on the corners continually asking them what there 'occupation' is. Yuss I was expecting a back hand from one of them. Went to this pretty cool club called Banana's. Danced all night, ordered two Jaeger shots and the bartender calmy told me that that is going to cost me 180 hong kong dollars, fack 27 US dollars.This town is expensive. All that I know about the rest of the night is that Ryan ended up in a sauna that night. Ata boytjie!
We went to the largest SEATED Buddha in the world as well on Lantau island. Really impressive. This thing is massive. The monastery around it was very beautiful and interesting as well. Also on a cultural note we ended up in the Hong Kong History museum one day. Best museum I have ever been to. So well put together and so interesting. Brilliant! Reading this book called Tai Pan and it talks about how
BlissBlissBliss

So nice to not be eating noodles!
Britain came about HK, so it all came together very nicely.
The one night we went to this bar/club district called Lang Kwai Fong. Awesome place jam packed with action. Took our klippies and coke in a plastic bottle like all true cheap South Africans should. These Taiwanese girls kept asking to have there pictures taken with us because 'you men look good' - damn straight we do!
Also went to the Peak at night and looked over the whole city, incredible.
Good times, good to have my boytjie with me. In china right now. Eating lots of noodles all the time. Alls well.
cheers
Lloyd

PS Matt Lawson, used Nomad Travel. Google them. Very good and they are about as cheap as you are going to get. You can ask them to email you a very good desciption of every day broken down.
Oh and Col have you ever tasted a Manhattan? It will knock your socks off.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Lekker!Lekker!
Lekker!

Ryan suiping on the klippies.
Big BuddhaBig Buddha
Big Buddha

Like really big.
Night timeNight time
Night time

The skyline is incredible at night when you look out over the water.
Taiwanese GirlsTaiwanese Girls
Taiwanese Girls

They were so funny!
Also BuddhaAlso Buddha
Also Buddha

260 steps up


23rd February 2006

Klippies
Hi Guys, Glad to see you are leading Ryan down the right path Lloyd! I did the same with Klippies 30 years ago and havn't touched the stuff since!
23rd February 2006

Klippies
Nice one lobs, and you rip me off bout being a farm girl!!! Looks like you guys are having so much fun, im jealous! Look after yourself and hope you have unforgettable time there!
23rd February 2006

Boksburg
Now Ryan is allowed to go there after passing the test of Klippies and coke.
27th February 2006

That's my boy
Uncle Ryan show them how we SA boytjies do it. Lloyd look after my little white trailer trash and please teach him all the wrong stuff. CHEEEERRRRSSSS MY NIGGAS!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb