Howsit my China!?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
February 23rd 2006
Published: February 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

China/Vietnam BorderChina/Vietnam BorderChina/Vietnam Border

My left foot is in China.
Took the bus through the Northern Vietnamese mountains into China. Sitting next to this Norwegian chap by the name of Christian, he informs me that if I go into Hong Kong(which I was doing 2 days later I would need a whole new Chinese visa to get back in) I say "oh that's rather annoying" I did manage to stick about 5 swear words in between those 4 words. The reason being that China charges US citizens double that of any other country. So it ended up costing me over $200 for my two visa's. oh well, next time I shall know. Spent the first night in Nanning, I was really blown away by the 1sr worldness of the freeways(which are wider than they are in the states) and how much building was taking place everywhere. Then went to HK to meet Ryan for 5 days and then came back into China with him 2 days ago. We took the bus from Gaunhzou(ancient Canton). It was a night bus. It was the worst bus ride I have ever experienced. I ended up laying on the dirty bus floor with my head continually bouncing into the chair in front of me. Got
Our BS scootersOur BS scootersOur BS scooters

How amazing is this place?!
to Yanhzou(can't spell these names) and found a place to stay. The guy who runs the place is a first rate arsehole, he won't even give us the remote to turn the heating on and we found out later that he over charged us. And hence Ryan and I shall be doing some electrical work as well as plumbing on our room before we leave, free of charge!
This tiny town in China(pop 300,000) is smack bang in the middle of some of the most beautiful countryside that I have ever seen. Ryan and I hired scooters, mine broke down in the middle of nowhere) and we cruised around the area. Went to Moon Hill and met a lovely lady that is going to be taking us on a 6 hour tour of the small villages tomorrow. Everywhere you look around here are these amazing small mountains jutting out of the ground which are filled with caves and waterfalls.
Took a boat ride down the Lilung river yesterday, pretty pretty cold and noisy. But nice scenery.
Lobby and me have taking a liking to this noodle place across the street. Gees it is amazing. They give you these soft soft
Nice Crash HelmetNice Crash HelmetNice Crash Helmet

Might as well be wearing some tupperwear.
noodles, and then you can help yourself to chili, spring onions, and 4 other things which probably don't have a name in English too. And then you top it off with these boiling brothy water. So nice, it warms you right up.
We walked through this night market the other night and came upon some disturbing sights that I shall refrain from mentioning for my own dear mothers mental well being (i can tell you that there were no dogs, I promise)
They do have fantastic fruit around here and I had this brilliant hot spinach and cheese filled pastry goodness today. Oh and as you can see from the pics we have invested in beanies, gloves, scarves and the likes. I really do not know how we are going to survive in bloomin London!
Learned how to say rice, see you and beef today in Mandarin.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

I am still such an idiotI am still such an idiot
I am still such an idiot

Such a pain in the ass carting this stuff around!
Lobby waiting in lineLobby waiting in line
Lobby waiting in line

to get into China.
3 Yuan3 Yuan
3 Yuan

Such fantastic noodles.
Odd ToiletOdd Toilet
Odd Toilet

Nonetheless a very enjoyable wizz!
Houses Houses
Houses

On a very old street near the river.
Mountains and stuffMountains and stuff
Mountains and stuff

It is bloody cold here.
CountrysideCountryside
Countryside

This is what all the county side around here looks like.
Chicken FeetChicken Feet
Chicken Feet

Just hanging up in a supermarket!
Moon HillMoon Hill
Moon Hill

Amazing views, unreal.
Asian Babies are CuteAsian Babies are Cute
Asian Babies are Cute

So funny watching them to learn to use chop sticks.
Lobbits doing his thingLobbits doing his thing
Lobbits doing his thing

I let him go before me, he was in bad shape after being on the boat for so long.


23rd February 2006

Fo'China
China looks amazing boet, I'm jealous you get to do all this stuff before me..
24th February 2006

You and Ryan look good side by side. He is one lucky man.
28th February 2006

AHHHHHHHHH
I am so jealous. How are you capable of looking good with a red scarf around your head? Only you lloyd...What's your favorite place to date in china?

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0163s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb