The amazing city of Hong Kong!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
November 10th 2007
Published: November 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

Well, we've gathered quite the crowd on the blog! Welcome to everyone. I hope you are enjoying all the comments as much as we are......it's fun to go back to the previous entry to see the comments that people post once they've read the story and have seen the pictures! As well, that's when you can read the answers to the questions that you might have posed.......

Again, first things first....Birthday Wishes to my very dear friend, Diane Francisco, in Port Coquitlam! Happy, happy birthday!!!!! (and thanks for your note yesterday!!!). As well, birthday wishes go out to the daughter of Klaus and Irene Buechner......Erika! Happy Birthday to you from Hong Kong!

So it's been another travel day for us. It was a bit sad to leave Kyoto; we had an amazing tour guide (Kyoko) for our group and she made the time in Kyoto enjoyable and memorable. We left the hotel and headed for the airport in Osaka again. A beautiful day for a drive! We flew out of Osaka just after the lunch hour. Clear skies and happy spirits! The crew had their own fun times in Japan and greeted us in traditional Japanese outfits. We were all feeling rather energetic today so there wasn't much snoozin' going on in the plane this trip. There was a movie playing (Music and Lyrics) but I doubt anyone was able to concentrate or hear the movie.........the rest of us were rather boisterous! Go figure!

There was lots of bonding, the traditional champagne greeting, the chance to spend time in the cockpit with the pilots, etc. Lots of photo opps and great conversation. We flew into Hong Kong, arriving at about 4:30 (I think!); I forget already LOL. It's a one hour time difference from Japan, so we turn our watches back an hour. We arrive at a private terminal and are met by Customs; the process goes very quickly and smoothly. On the bus and headed to the hotel. The check-in process is also handled effectively and smoothly. And the rooms........oh my gosh.......our rooms! I feel like a princess!!!!!!! You can see the pictures. I love it! I know I am not necessarily as "travelled" as many of the others on this tour, but oh my gosh.........I LOVE MY ROOM!

Time to head out to dinner; we take the bus and then the Peak Tram to Cafe Deco (a superb restaurant). The dinner was fantastic! It was a buffet, but first class all the way. The view of Hong Kong was excellent and a great photo opportunity for many. We just got back to our hotel; it's about 11 p.m.

Tomorrow, I begin my day by exercising in the fitness center. Didn't do that today; rather, I had a few more drinks than I would normally have..........the influence of the "love birds" LOL. I will definitely be working out in the morning! We head out on tour and will be going to a number of different places. You'll see all that on the blog tomorrow night.

It's been a great day, and I'm going to call it a night. Enjoy the photos.

(Good night, Mom. I love you!)

Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

A cemetery in Hong KongA cemetery in Hong Kong
A cemetery in Hong Kong

No, I'm not obsessed with them; but I do find it interesting to see how/where they squeeze them into such minimal land space!
My room!My room!
My room!

When you're in the bathroom, you can see right through the glass wall into the bedroom........very cool!
The elegant bathroomThe elegant bathroom
The elegant bathroom

So very beautiful!
Klaus and IreneKlaus and Irene
Klaus and Irene

On the tram, heading up to Cafe Deco
Dessert is looking mighty fine.....Dessert is looking mighty fine.....
Dessert is looking mighty fine.....

But I passed on it, because there was no chocolate in sight!
I'm lovin' it!!!!I'm lovin' it!!!!
I'm lovin' it!!!!

This is where I'm headin' right now! !!!......


10th November 2007

Very interesting!
Good morning Pat, As I write this it is 11:45 am on Saturday morning, yet you are already into the next day. According to the world time site... http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/city.html?n=102... it is 12:45 am and you are likely fast asleep in your princess room. What an amazing trip and you have only just begun! I'm envious. I can two very good reasons for continuing your workouts... the quantity of food/wine and likely the richness thereof, but also I suspect it gives you some "down time" to do something normal, yet give your mind time to absorb and process all of the activities you participate in each day. I do enjoy the pictures very much, although I'm sure from your point of view a 2-D picture can only do so much for the 3-D real thing. Too bad it isn't a surroundsound type sensation with scents/sounds/panoramic visuals. By the way, I don't think taking pictures of cemetaries is obsessive - cemetaries are an important part of any culture. How each culture treats those who have passed on, is interesting in comparison to the next culture. Halifax has one of the oldest cemetaries in Canada, and it is interesting and inspires a sense of awe. Continue your tour in safety and health, Cheers! Linda
10th November 2007

Dawn and John
Hey guys, I think I am gaining weight just looking at the food. Ymmy Tummy! Hope the pants have elastic waists. Looks like you are traveling in style. You deserve it. still miss you charlie
10th November 2007

The Plane........
Hi Pat: Looks like you made friends with the pilots........missed you at FCS on Friday night...........but I must say you look like you are having a great time in Hong Kong! Your pics are great, feel like I'm there. Pearl
10th November 2007

Birthday wishes
Hi Pat. I've really enjoyed reading your blog about the trip. That way I know what my parents are up to even when I can't manage to reach them (with the time change). Thanks for the birthday wishes. Being in Newmarket isn't nearly as exciting as Hong Kong, but I'm having a great day nonetheless. Erika :-)
11th November 2007

Love the Room
Hi Pat: I am really enjoying your blog and as I said before, I feel like I am there again with you. Beautiful room in Hong Kong and here we are back at the restaurant on top of the mountain. Great looking food. All is well here and I think some nice weather is on the way for next week. Take care and enjoy! Lorraine (Blue group 2006)
11th November 2007

memories
Hi Pat; what a great blog! we are enjoying wonderful memories of the exciting destinations, as well as the comments from our fellow travelers of 2006. A big 'HELLO' to our Blue group, as well as our many friends from Red and Green. Diane and Remo
11th November 2007

Quite the view
It reminds me a bit of Shanghai-the view from the Deco Cafe. Seems like you were really high up. Were you? And where did you stay to get such a lovely room? Nice one! I must say, they sure know how to entertain in Japan don't they? Have a great couple of days! M-Ann xo
11th November 2007

COUNTRIES
Hi, Pat, I will make a picture of a home for you! I can play the accordion.I take accordion lessons with our neighbour Paul, it is fun!!! Which country are you going to last? Love, Evan Fortin
11th November 2007

Hi Ben!
So nice to hear from you, Ben!!!! I hope you keep the purple snake until I get back and can see it. I am sure that you did an incredible job on it!!! You can be sure there will be more pictures coming on the blog........I am so glad you are enjoying them, Ben! We are leaving for Viet Nam today.
11th November 2007

Hi Evan!
By the time I get home, you should be able to play a few songs for me on the accordion, right????? I am glad you are enjoying your lessons. I look forward to getting the picture you are making for me; thank you! Our last country will be Iceland. I am looking forward to it because last year, if you remember, I was not feeling well when we were there, so I missed out on some of the activities. Stay tuned!
13th November 2007

More memories
Hi Pat, We also went from Japan to Hong Kong, so the memories keep coming back. By the way, is that Jan Bradley from Edmonton in the picutre? If so, I know her - she is a sorority sister, so say "Hi". Judy
13th November 2007

Yes, that's Jan from Edmonton!
That's why I put her picture up. She saw your note (she's following the blog as we go along) and said that you two were friends. I will pass on your regards.

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0931s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb