And so it continues...


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
March 2nd 2007
Published: March 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well we were up early this morning, because in Sydney it was already 10:30.... 7:30 local time!!

We sat around for a while, thinking it was too early to do anything (most of Hong Kong opens around 10:00 but often a lot later for other shops), but then decided to grab some breakfast adn head down to the peninsulaa waterfront.

We went to a local breakfast place where I ordered a beef congee and Rosy ordered the beef ball soup. Twas so tasty!

We decided to take the train dow the the water. The trains are so organised! it was easy, HK$5 to ride down the road. We walked to the avenue of the stars and we took touristy photos with Jet Li and Jacky Chan's hand prints. We also go to take a look at Hong Kong Island from the peninsula side... A lovely view but marred by mist, pollution or something.

We were walking around in singlets and jeans but it appears the locals wear jumpers and parkers, because its winter (a nice 21 Degrees!) We were sweaty in our jeans, and we got some odd looks form the locals, but I just kept telling myself they were looking at the colour of my skin and saying "strange tourists!" 😊

We headed back to the hotel after that, as we were meeting an old uni friend of Rosys, Angela. Of course we were already exhausted so when she was running late, I had a snooze. Angela arrived around midday.

We caught the train (MTR) to Kowlong Tong where we walked through Festival Walk (Think Chatswood Chase but bigger and ... bigger!!) we went to a restaurant called "Jasmine" where we had the most INCREDIBLE Yum Cha (Dim Sum) I have ever had.

Then to Admiralty for coffee(supposedly the only decent coffee in HK according to Ang) and some window shoppimg and then on a tram to what I can only describe as GEEK HEAVEN! It was two floors of little dogdy shops selling every digital applicance you could dream of. After a bit of negotiating, I found a shop that would do the deal I wanted for HK$660... which is a bargain! (AU$110)

We then walked past Time Square and into another shopping centre and into another restaurant for dinner. I had Wonton Noodle Soup and Rosy had Spicy Beef noodle
Geek HeavenGeek HeavenGeek Heaven

This picture is for John. :)
soup and the three of us shared some dumplings. Can I say AMAZING any louder? Seriously the food here is fantaastic!

Ang had planned to take us out to pubs and stuff after dinner, but Rosy and I were already exhausted (remember we were exhausted at 11am!) SO we grabbed a couple of smirnoffs and sat in our hotel room and giggled until the wee hours...

Advertisement



4th March 2007

<_<
Geek heaven, you say... I'll have to recommend it to my friends if they happen to be passing through... ^_^
7th March 2007

man thats soo amazing, youve definately sold HK to me, im adding it to my travelling destination list. Yeah i was the same in rome walking around in shorts in the middle of winter, I think it was because we had jumped from canada's - 10 to +10 so i was happy :), eat plenty for me! im sooo jealous, are you taking photos of all your foods!
13th March 2007

Whoa, the city looks like there's heaps to explore and discover. And the over-dressing by the locals is kinda odd. But I guess it depends where you are in the world. I remember the same thing about Greece. I was in a tshirt + shorts, while people walked by in fuzzy coats and mittens! But on the other hand, in Canada people walk around outside in the middle of the snow in jeans and a long sleeved tshirt.

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb