Day One


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
March 1st 2007
Published: March 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I got picked up to go to the airport by Rosy and Chris this morning at 8:30... Its how our adventure begins!

Airport 10:30 and on the plane by 12noon. We weight in at 11.7Kgs(Rosy) and 12Kgs(Susan) which I attribute to the giant metamucil I decided to bring at the last minute to make sure we both stayed regular (you never know with all the noodles... 😉

As I have already mentioned, Rosy managed to smuggle us into the Qantas club, which means we got a small snack of brie, biscuits, champagne, rolls and salami/ham and fruit salad... well it only seems small now!

We were allocated a window seat and an aisle seat... must have messed up somewhere because there are three seats, and we asked the gentleman who had the ticket between us to please sit on the aisle... he didn’t seem to mind but I’m sure he was relieved not to sit between us for the full 9 hour flight... all our giggling!

I was excited on the plane, because they had in flight games! but they were crap games and the controllers seemed quite worn out as well, so I quickly turned to the in flight movies.

5274km later, we landed in Hong Kong International, where it was stil just light and 5:30 in the afternoon. We withdrew some money, witha brief panic attack because the keypad was upside down (I couldn't remember my PIN!) on the ATM... Oh the small things let you kmow you are somewhere new!

We bought tickets to Mong Kong, which is where the Standord reservations awaited... the fair was HK$33... Which sounds like a lot, but is really around AU$5.50. (the ratio is about 6:1)

Exhausted and stinky, I had a quick shower while Rosy rested, and then we both prepared to venture out into HK together for the first time.

We found a fast food japanese outlet, where we bought some rice and meat dish... only HK$28. Then we ventured out to the Ladies markets, which are fascinating! They are like Parklea Markets, on the streets but longer and louder and more people. And they are open until the wee hours of the night.

We went bargaining for sunnies ('oakleys' for HK$50!) 'gucci' bags, HK$40, i got tossed out of the Watch shop for asking a fifth of the original price, and we both drooled over the leather bags. Rosy also picked up some Ralph Lauren polos on the cheap.

We briefly went through a technical markets section, so I could get my fix (yes Jamie I think we all have our own fix to get whenever we can!)Iwas checking out the External HDD with CF card readers built in so I can save my photographs without having to worry about a laptop. Looks like we are looking at about HK$750 worth of kit.

We are now back in the hotel and I am writing this offline to type up soon. My legs hurt and so do Rosy's calves. Its only the first day! The beds are really hard but I'm sure we will get different beds in the next hotel on Sunday. It 's hard to believe we are actually here!

Okay I can't upload photos from here, and I hope to be able to log onto the internet again soon so I can upload some.

Love you all,

Susan



Advertisement



13th March 2007

You got thrown out of a watch shop? lol! Love the picture of the two of you - you guys are so sweet

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb