Off to the Beach!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
August 9th 2012
Published: August 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This morning I got up early to have a last breakfast with Arthur, who luckily had a later start. We grabbed some traditionally HK breakie, mine was some chicken with fried egg and some maccaroni and Arthur had a mini steak, sausage and egg. Very weird combos but great!

I thne grabbed my stuff and heading down to the hotel where I would be crashing with the others for my last night. It was painful treking across HK but made it eventually and, yes you guessed it, everyone was still in bed. So I chilled out for a bit and then we packed our beach stuff and headed to Causeway Bay (not the beach) to get Caleb, the birthday boy, a sim card for HK and an octopus card for him and Dom.

We then grabbed some taxis and headed over to the southern side of the island and Stanley. It only cost $100 for a taxi which was awesome for such a long trip! The beach was beautiful and quiet for what you would expect seeing as the weather was awesome and it was the summer holidays! Dom, Caleb and I went and grabbed some seafood lunch leaving Jess and Katy to chill out on the beach. We had a great lunch of prawns, calamari and some white bate cooked into an omelette! Was really good to finally get some seafood and it was all down to Doms guide book again!

We went back to the beach and had a swim, the water was lovely and warm and it was great to have some clear sea! You could have been on the south coast of France, there were lovely beach side apartments but loads of green in the hills around. I was smitten and have to confess I have fallen in love with Hong Kong!!

We chilled out for a couple of hours and Alastair arrived for a bit. I washed up and headed back on the bus to meet Stuart, a family friend, for some beers. I was well and truely treated by him and we had a few beers and talked about working in HK, an idea I am contemplating. His wife Carolynne arrived and we had dinner together. I had an amazing steak which was the sort of food I had been craving in China! We then went and had some more beers at another local bar before I headed back to the hotel to meet the others. I have to thank them both for their hospitality!

On the way back, in my inebriated state, thought it would be good to walk down a street Stuart had previously said was full of "massage palours". Several times I was asked to come in and watch a lovely Hongonese girl dance but managed to resist and made it back to the hotel where everyone else was suitably drunk, so we headed out to Lan Kwai Fong the bar centre.

We had some great fun, it was ladies night so the girls got free drinks and snuck them to us! After a few hours of fun me and the girls headed back to the hotel and crashed out. Leaving the guys to it.....hopefully they would get back!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb