Hong Kong, a week-end of romance, shopping, partying...under the wintery clouds...


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
January 24th 2010
Published: January 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Leslie has a week-end arranged with his friends in Bangkok, so Ma'ri took the plane to join me for a romantic week-end in Hong Kong. I used to live here nearly 10 years ago...and the place doesn't change much. It was the first full week-end for Ma'ri in Hong Kong.

On Friday night, we met our fellow trabelbloggers Mike and Sarah for a great dinner. Guys, hope you are coming to visit us soon...that was an evening! It was also one of my first dinner in HK since the local Government cut taxes on wine...it does show on the menu, and this is nice. Even if I may admit, having so much fun with Sarah and Mike, four of us are more the likes of...can you bring one more bottle! Well, it was Friday evening!

One of the plan for the week-end was to show the Peak to Ma'ri...I never succeded as the weather was too much of the foggy winter style. It was useless to even try to get on the tram up the Peak. So we had other plans, enjoying ourselves, late morning and great breakfasts. On the program also, some retail shopping therapy...but I must admit we remained very reasonnable on that line. We don't need to shop much anymore for winter clothes....as a matter of fact, our next cold weather will only be in July...interesting isn't it!

We also spent our Saturday night going out. This time trying M1NT. It's funny to see this young crowd trying to show-up around. We have great friends with who we party a lot in Shanghai. We enjoy great places, but we are lucky to have friends who have left any snob effect to other people. In Bangkok, the snob side simply doesn't exist, and this is quite a relief...I don't mind to feel on holiday all the time with people who have the same aspirations as us in Bangkok. For me HK has always left me with the feeling that people need to compete for everything. They need to have what their neighbours have...they don't live by their own choices, rather by images that they need to shine by too. I love my life, I love my excess, but I make sure these are mine...not running the race of "always more". As I say, be happy with what you get and try to make the best of it...we do!

Our next entry is coming soon. Small hint...more diving and even more romance! I can't wait for that trip!

With love from all of us...the next two weeks are going to be filled with an event that will change the course of 2010 for us...but this is for later...


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



25th January 2010

...
Gin & Tonic? Cigar?

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb