Safe and sound in Hong Kong... loving dim sum and lots of sightseeing so far


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
October 14th 2007
Published: October 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone,
Well I have finally arrived in Hong Kong. I left on Friday night as you know and pretty much missed Saturday Oct. 13 because of being in the air and the shift in timezones and crossing the International dateline. Before boarding the plane I got talking to a woman named Leanne who is Canadian but originally from Vietnam. We started talking because I noticed she had some tears forming in her eyes and I, feeling as nervous as she for getting this adventure under way, simply said..."I understand." This started a whole discussion about where I was going and her family etc. That was just what I needed to ease my nerves. We boarded a very full flight on Cathay Pacific en route to Anchorage and then to Hong Kong. While they refuelled in Anchorage we didn't get off the plane... not sure why, but that meant an extended amount of time breathing recycled air... for those of you who have flown before, you know what I mean. But nonetheless, the service on the plane was just fine. I slept most of the flight and caught a few movies, but it was a little bit crowded.... a long time to sit.

I arrived in Hong Kong this morning at 7 and was met by Ming Fai and my dear friend Rachel, Ming Fai is Rachel's boyfriend. I was ecstatic to see Rachel again since we had not seen each other since Grenada last summer. I was quickly introduced to the Octupus transit pass and we took a bus to Ma Wan, Park Island where Rachel lives. The island is quite small in size, however it is filled with tall new condos. The island is actually left unnamed on most maps because it is so small. I met Rachel's maid, many of the residents in HK have maids and many of them are from Indonesia. Rachel's parents run an electronic store and I met them too. Very kind, great hosts, but only speak cantonese. I quickly learned how to say Thank you. My first cantonese word and an important one to know.

I accompanied Rachel to her church this morning, all in cantonese... a typical presbyterian church, housed in a highschool near Tsing Yi. I met many of her friends all of whom have professional jobs and who treated me to dim sum for lunch. We had a great time passing food around the lazy susan in the centre of the table. They ordered a great variety of dishes, but I couldn't tell you the name of my favourite. I even ate a chicken foot... that is a first on my list of foods tried. I also learned that there is a sign you give to someone by tapping the table with two fingers to say thank you when they have refilled your cup of green or black tea. We had a good time around the table... I tried to follow the conversation, mostly by reading facial expressions and the odd comment in English. I am certain I was the only white woman in the restaurant, but that didn't seem to matter. It was a fitting welcome lunch to Hong Kong.

After lunch, Ming Fai and Rachel and I went down to Wan Cha to the market and went to see the infamous blue house and the Pak Bai temple. I love the signage in the streets. Even saw in the fish markets fish that were so alive they were flipping themselves both over and even out of the pan... talk about being a fish out of water! Literally! We then took an old tram to the Central and Mid-level escalators and climbed up to Soho near Hollywood Road. We had a snack at Lan Fong Yuen a famous little restaurant that served "Secret Salty Lemon 7Up." Essentially you get a full lemon and a glass of salted ice and you add in your 7up... interesting taste! An experience! We also had pork bun and some noodles with chicken.

You'd think that the day was done after all this exploring but not yet. Today is the New Year for Indonesians and so many of the women, mostly maids were all given a holiday and congregated in different areas of the downtown with other women. They played cards, rested, chatted and played cards. Some even got up and danced with some drummers. That was neat to see. There is very little green space in the downtown near Central so these women all sat on newspapers on the concrete. Sad that they have no where else to congregate, but nice that they feel comfortable celebrating together regardless of the space.

To finish off our night we took the Star Ferry to Tsim Sha Tsui and admired the beautiful tall buildings lit up . We went up to the 10th floor and had dinner at the Chao Inn. Traditional Chinese. We got a table right next to the windows that looked on to the harbour! How perfect as we dined and watched the light show coming off the buildings.

Hong is beautiful so far... Lots to see and completely different from much of what I have ever seen before. I am listening as I can to pick up the cantonese, but at the same time admiring the scenery in taking it all in by not saying much at all.

Tomorrow I am off to Stanley and to Victoria Peak. Lots to do for the next few days.

Hoping you are all doing well 12 hours behind me.

Take care.

Thinking of you all.

Katy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb