Hong Kong... in the rain!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
August 19th 2005
Published: August 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Woo hoo!!! I've arrived!

Just a very quick note to let you all know that i've arrived ok and everything is going well! Having a fab time. Been out sightseeing like a proper tourist with my camera, and also bought some jewlery... already! :o)

One really big bummer tho... it hasn't stopped raining since I arrived on wednesday evening! Think I must have jinxed the place with Manchester weather! I tell you, i haven't had chance to dry out yet! But have now invested in a brolly like the locals! EVERYONE has one... think of a busy rush hour london, and then give all those people umbrellas,... that's kinda what it's like (but with more neon lights!) However, I don't seem to have mastered the technique of carrying a brolly effectively, i think it may be more of a hindrance than a help! I still seem to manage to be drenched down one arm and from my toes up to my thighs... not very nice.... oh my word, and you should see the state of my hair! (or maybe you shouldnt!) And brollies are so leathal! The number of times i've nearly been poked in the eye or walked into someone or something whilst holding my brolly... it's a health hazard! and also, HK from under an umbrella and in the rain doesnt make for very good sight seeing photos.. but will try and put some up soon,... when i can find a computer that has a USB jobby!

Well, gotta dash, got tonnes more to tell you all about (and its not just about the weather, sorry but i need a moan!), I'm off out tonight (as its Friday!) with a girl i'm sharing my room with. She's called Maggy and is from Australia, but her parents come from Hong Kong, so she can speak the lingo! (proved to be v. v. v. helpful so far!) she's like my own little tour guide and tonight she's going to show me where to go have a good time! yey!

So catch up again with you all soon, hope you're all well and having better weather than me!!!

Big soggy hugs, Clare x

Advertisement



19th August 2005

hey hon glad ur already havin fun, fraid i cant meet up with u in thailand am gutted but cudnt get it all sorted (injections an stuff) in time. also had less funds than i thought keep havin fun, am really jealous!!! luv rachel x
19th August 2005

The joys of wetness
Haha - contagious Manchester weather... Just make sure you check out the immense HMV, and get up Victoria Peak. Oh, and there's always the chance of eating frog's leg stew in a local restaurant. The ones without westerners in are the best!
20th August 2005

Boo
Hello there. Glad to hear that you got there ok and are having fum (even if the weather isn't too good, but it will get better). hope you have fun for the rest of Hong Kong with your very own private tour guide :) Big hugs, Martin
20th August 2005

One solution to the rain in China
Buy a China hat! They are the best....cover your head and most of your shoulders....and of course handsfree!

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb