The City Tour


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
January 21st 2007
Published: January 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well it has almost been two weeks here. On Saturday, Sarah and I took a city tour to see the main attractions. We went to Repulse Bay, Stanley market, Victoria Peak, and ended at the hot spot, central. Repulse Bay was quite unique. There were many statues of dragons and lions and horses set along a beach. It was pretty amazing. In stanley market a show was being performed with beautiful costumes. Unfortunately I couldn't understand what they were saying. Then we went to Victoria Peak which gives you a breathtaking view of the city. Finally we went to where all the action was taking place on Hong Kong island and ate. The day was pretty amazing and that was just a small part of the whole island. Today I spent the day with my host family. This morning we went to a tea house which is a tradition for every Sunday. Supposively, your whole family goes and you take your time eating, talking, relaxing and reading the newpaper. Then we went to a chinese temple where you lit a long stick and prayed for health and happiness. Once that was done, each person hit a huge drum three times for good luck. After the temple, we took a stroll over to the Heritage Museum and gandered at some interesting art. On the way back, we stopped at a market to pick up some things to prepare dinner. I was told we needed to get chicken. In my mind I was thinking," Oh good, I can handle chicken" but when we went to get it, it was still alive. They cut the head off right there and the body was still moving! Then we went to the seafood section to pick out live shrimp and fish. That put a knot in my stomach. At dinner all I could find myself eating was the steamed lettuce.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



22nd January 2007

I found you!
Hey Katie! Its your cousin Jenna. I was updating my blog when I saw Katie H in Hong Kong on the newest list of bloggers. I love that I can read about your adventures. The pictures are amazing. Hope you are having a magnificent time. Keep us updated.
26th January 2007

WoW!
I'm in awe checking out your blog. It's hard to believe you're there. the scenery is amazing, as is the shopping, I'm sure. The eating, I'm not so sure. Do you miss everybody yet? I'm sure that Shasta is looking for you.Got to check the rest of the pages. I'll be in touch. Love ya.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb