Getting there


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Wan Chai
January 18th 2010
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well the adventure has truly begun now. I actually managed to get to sleep at a relatively decent hour - 11pm! What makes that even more amazing is that I fell asleep instantly. Pity it didn’t last. I woke up at 1am, 2:30am and again at 3:45! I then stayed awake until my alarm went off at 4:50. That is a silly o’clock time - not a time I like to see very often, but one I feel that I am going to see a lot of over the next 6 months. Everyone was up and ready to go by 6am - pretty impressive. HB was very keen to get going, although she said she didn’t like silly o’clock times (and in fact any hour in the morning has now become silly o’clock).

The 1st new experience was going to the 1st class drop off! Wow, they check you in while you enjoy a nice breakfast and then when you plane is boarding they drive you out to the plane instead of going on the bus! We all got searched at check in; even my old Crocy got swabbed! If they had come back and told me that he couldn’t
Buisness!Buisness!Buisness!

I could get used to this!
go on the flight I would have refused to have gone. No way is he not coming with me. Luckily he came back all clean. See just goes to show that after 21 yrs of not being washed he is still safe. Our 1st flight took us back to sunny Heathrow. It was great fun teasing F about where we were going. Neither of the children knows where we are going or what we are doing. Throughout the week we kept saying that we were going to the German equivalent of Bognor Regis called Binger where they had been once as a family. In fact the Lufthansa aircraft was called Binger! So when we arrived in Heathrow F was not impressed. We obviously explained that this was the first flight and that we were connecting to another place.

While waiting for our next flight we got to check into the Singapore Airlines lounge. Woo! I then found out that we were on the new A380-800, flying business class. HA! I had to phone my mum when I found out - not to make her jealous or anything. I even sent her a photo just so that she knew what
Sleep timeSleep timeSleep time

Ah a nice bed makes no difference. If you can't sleep, you can't sleep.
I was up too, and do you know what I got called by her! Well it really isn’t repeatable lol. Well, if you think I was lucky flying with the children in business class, you should have seen what it was like for Mr and Mrs G in Suite class. They got little rooms to themselves, and they were the only people down there. The air hostesses were lovely, and made a real fuss of us all especially HB. I managed to get her to sleep at 4:15 which would be 1am in Hong Kong.

Well, it just goes to show that even if you have a bed on a flight does not actually mean that you will sleep. I got a grand total of no sleep. Not one wink. HB - she slept for 9 hrs! She would have slept longer if the belt had not got caught round her neck. Once we landed they both thought that we had arrived in our final destination. To see their faces when instead of going to immigration we headed towards the lounge area. It was here that they were told where we were going. HB face lit up when she
Waiting at ChangiWaiting at ChangiWaiting at Changi

In the Kris Kross Lounge at Changi Airport.
found out that could go to Disneyland. The only thing she asked from here on out was when could we go, and could we go tomorrow.

We only had a few hours to wait at Changi Airport, and let me tell you there isn’t a better airport than this. It is AMAZING. We spent the time waiting in the Kris Kross Air Lounge playing hide and seek with the animals Cwock, Air-plane (from Lufthansa), Floppsy (HB’s bunny) and Singa and Pore (the 2 teddies HB was given from SIA - they are very naughty teddies that get up to lots of mischief). I don’t think all the business men waiting in the lounge were too impressed with all the noise we made -oh well, they’ll get over it.

We didn’t leave much time to get board, and actually only just made the flight. Again we were on an A380 in business, this time the flight was only 4hrs. I plugged HB into the in-flight entertainment so I could watch Imagine That. HB is such a great traveller. She asked a few times where we there yet - but after a firm talking too, telling her that we had
The viewThe viewThe view

The view of Kowloon from our window.
lots of travelling to do, and I didn’t want her to be asking this all the time, and we would be there when we were there she was fine.

By now I had been awake for nearly 24hrs, and was feeling a bit like a walking zombie. Thankfully when we got off the plane we had a lift in one of those beep beep cars (or at least that is what my brother used to call them). Then it was a 25min drive to the 4 Seasons on Hong Kong Island. Our room was on the 31st floor so it gave us a stunning view over to Kowloon and off The Penninsula Hotel. It only took 5 mins for them to trash the room - impressive you say. Ah - I’ve seen children that can do it quicker.

By now HB really need some time to play by herself. So I let her talk with the animals while I sorted out our bags. While packing everything was put into zip bags and labelled. A bit Monica-ish from Friends, but it is a really great system. All the clothes slot back into the bags, and it saves me having to unpack and repack at every hotel. Plus it helps keep out any nasty creepy crawlies.

I got HB to bed by 7, F was in bed by 7:30 and I was in bed by 7:50. Plenty of sleep needed for the next day.


Advertisement



24th January 2010

You're There!
Wow, Anita! What a wonderful installment. We were in Hong Kong for the changing of the millenium (12/31/1999) and really enjoyed ourselves. We stayed with friends who lived in Discovery Bay on Lantou Island. Unfortunately, Disneyland wasn't built yet. Can't wait to hear more. The beds on the aircraft look amazing!
27th January 2010

what a lot of travelling
Wow, what a lot of travelling. I didnt realise you had to come back to Heathrow just to go out again - it reminds me of Thailand when we just seemed to be hopping from one airport to another!! At least you got to fly business, the pics look amazing, and even that airplane bed looks really comfy!!! You're so lucky to have kids that travel well, I hope they stay so well behaved for the whole 6 months!! :D xxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb