In search of the Golden Fleece


Advertisement
Georgia's flag
Asia » Georgia » Tbilisi District » Tbilisi
July 7th 2006
Published: August 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

BatumiBatumiBatumi

Church of the Virgin Mary
Like Jason and his Argonauts in times past I went to Georgia to seek out the Golden Fleece... Unlike Jason I wasn't successful but I did find a country full of very hospitable people who enjoy feasting and who will take very well care of their guests! I also found the last Stalin fans in the world... He lives on in Gori his birthplace!!

I entered Georgia at Batumi which is the country's main seaside resort... It's full of charming run down buildings from the turn of the century... Near by is Gonio a more or less intact Roman fortress.

After this I went to Kutaisi, the second city of Georgia and what is thought to be the town where Jason found the Golden Fleece. I stayed with Giorgi and his family who took good care of me. From here I went to Gelati monastery which was and is a very important religious centre. After getting some advice from Giorgi I decided to go to Svaneti, a region in the Caucasus Mountains. Mestia is the biggest town here. After an entertaining 9 hour ride in old soviet busses and some great scenery along the way I arrived in Mestia
BatumiBatumiBatumi

Roman Fortress of Gonio outside Batumi
in the evening and couldn't find a place to stay. But than Udo and his family took me in and gave me food and wine and vodka! I had many a toast, which means I was downing a lot of wine and vodka (after a toast you are expected to down your glass). Svaneti is a very beautiful region where every home has it's own defensive tower!

Than I had to rush back to Turkey to see how my visa for Iran was going and to my great joy I got it!!

So after that I went back into Georgia and stayed in Akhaltsikhe from where I visited Vardzia a cave complex not unlike Cappadocia in Turkey.

And yesterday I went to Gori and looked at the sights around it and of course I went to the Stalin museum! Got a guided tour with a suitably KGB'esque guide who never smiled and looked like she wanted to kill me... I had many a toast on Stalin with my host and taxi driver. Yes they still love him here! I toasted to Stalin with wine and to Putin with beer (you only toast your enemy's with beer and
KutaisiKutaisiKutaisi

Giorgi (my host) and I in Kutaisi
my host didn't like Russians)

Gaumarjos to you all as they say here!



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

KutaisiKutaisi
Kutaisi

Bagrati Cathedral
KutaisiKutaisi
Kutaisi

One of the entrances to Bagrati
KutaisiKutaisi
Kutaisi

Details of one of the columns
KutaisiKutaisi
Kutaisi

View of Kutaisi
KutaisiKutaisi
Kutaisi

Houses and church along the river
KutaisiKutaisi
Kutaisi

Statue of Davit Aghmashenebeli (David the Builder) on Kutaisi's main square
KutaisiKutaisi
Kutaisi

Gelati Monestary outside Kutaisi
KutaisiKutaisi
Kutaisi

Fresco inside Gelati
KutaisiKutaisi
Kutaisi

Nice carved doorway at Gelati
SvanetiSvaneti
Svaneti

Mestia, with it's defensive stone towers...
SvanetiSvaneti
Svaneti

The defensive stone towers are a symbol of the Svaneti region
SvanetiSvaneti
Svaneti

Each house has one... In times of trouble the family would seek refuge in their stone tower
SvanetiSvaneti
Svaneti

A lonely defensive tower among the mist clad mountains
SvanetiSvaneti
Svaneti

The family I stayed with in Mestia
VardziaVardzia
Vardzia

Cave city of Vardzia
VardziaVardzia
Vardzia

Fresco of Queen Tamar inside the cave Church of the Assumption
VardziaVardzia
Vardzia

Khertvisi Fortress on the way to Vardzia
GoriGori
Gori

Statue of Stalin


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb