So long and thanks for all the kebab!!


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Black Sea » Trabzon
June 23rd 2006
Published: August 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

DogubayazitDogubayazitDogubayazit

Ishak Pasa Palace at sunset
This will be my last post in Turkey... Yes I am finally leaving the country... With a sad heart though...

But let me first tell what I have been doing till now...

First in Van I met Brian who I had met earlier on my Mt. Nemrut sunset tour and together with him and Tim a Kiwi who was staying in the same hotel we did a tour of Akdamar Island.. After this Brian and I also went for a look at Hosap Castle about an hour east of Van...

Next Brian and I went to Dogubayazit where we stayed at Murat camping just below Ishak Pasa palace... This is one of the nicer places I have stayed in in Turkey, not because the rooms where especially clean or anything but location wise it was unbeatable... Ishak palace is like a fairytale castle from Arabian nights and it is great to sit at the restaurant just above it sipping a cold beer watching the sunset over the palace...

Than it was off to Kars which is the base to visit Ani... Ani was a long, long time ago in a galaxy far, far away the royal capital
DogubayazitDogubayazitDogubayazit

Gateway to the second court
of Armenia lorded over by the evil emperor Palpatine and his cruel stooge Lord Vather... Then little Frodo and his gang of circus freaks came along and overthrew the emperor and everybody lived happily every after... Historians find this story to be utterly ludicrous and look down in contempt on those propagating the story.. Be that as it may, the site is very beautiful and untouristy making it a great place to while away a couple of hours.

After this I had to go to Erzerum where I was going to try and get my Iranian visa at the consulate there, having heard it is the best place to get one... The staff seemed friendly enough, I had to fill out an application form and in 10 days I will know if my request has been granted or not..

So I decided not to hang around Erzerum for that time but make a foray into Georgia..

I am now in Trabzon, from where I made a daytrip to Sumela monastery which is clinging to the sheer rock face and has some amazing frescoes..

Tomorrow I will enter Georgia for my reconnaissance mission.. Than back to Erzerum
DogubayazitDogubayazitDogubayazit

Palace Mosque and the family tomb in front
where I will hopefully get my visa.. So technically I have not left Turkey for good yet..

Still I would like to thank all the Turkish people for their hospitality and I will definitely return! It has been great!




Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

DogubayazitDogubayazit
Dogubayazit

Floral design on the tomb
DogubayazitDogubayazit
Dogubayazit

Beautiful arches
DogubayazitDogubayazit
Dogubayazit

Minaret of the palace Mosque
DogubayazitDogubayazit
Dogubayazit

Interior of the palace Mosque
DogubayazitDogubayazit
Dogubayazit

Mt. Ararat
KarsKars
Kars

View of Kars with Church of the Apostles down below
KarsKars
Kars

Kars Castle
KarsKars
Kars

Minarets in Kars
Kars to AniKars to Ani
Kars to Ani

Village on the way from Kars to Ani, with old Armenian Church of Karmir Vank
Kars to AniKars to Ani
Kars to Ani

Karmir Vank, now used as a stable
AniAni
Ani

Old city walls of Ani
AniAni
Ani

Church of St. Gregory (Tigran Honentz) and view towards Armenia
AniAni
Ani

Fresco on Church of St. Gregory (Tigran Honentz)
AniAni
Ani

Porthole window with Armenian inscriptions on Ani Cathedral
AniAni
Ani

Collapsed dome inside Ani Cathedral
AniAni
Ani

Birds and the Church of St. Gregory (Abughamrentz)
AniAni
Ani

Church of St. Gregory (Abughamrentz) with wild flowers
ErzurumErzurum
Erzurum

Cifte Minareli Medrese


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb