Shanghai to Ningbo on fast train


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
March 17th 2015
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 29.88, 121.55

This morning, we were catching the fast train to Ningbo, so once we did our final packing, we checked out of the hotel, then got a taxi to the Hongqiao railway station we seri at 7.30am, we thought we will have plenty of time, I lined up in the queue for the tickets, gave passports, then I thought I could pay by visa, NO.
Clint had taken my cash and he was standing 30 metres away with all our bags, so out of the line I got, grabbed his wallet, then I had to rejoin an even longer line again. Getting frustrated in waiting, a man in front of me started talking, he was from Boston, so we just spoke about transportation etc until he got his ticket, even offering to help me with my tickets but I was ok!!
Now with tickets in hand, we found our gate number and Clint again waited with our bags while I went and got us breakfast. Made it in time, this railway station is so big, it takes a while to walk anywhere. It was time to line up now for our train, lugging all our bags, everyone seems to travel light, we have multiple bags!!
We found our seats, although we were spaced on same row but one in between and settled in for the 2 hour trip. The train pulls away so quietly fast, you don't even know you're moving!
We arrived in Ningbo at 11am, took a taxi to our accommodation and then wandered out to see what's happening. I wore a tank top, 3/4 pants and sandals and Clint had a tank top and shorts, we had so many people glaring at us because everyone has jumpers then jackets, with long pants and boots, probably more clothing underneath and yet the sun was shining here and it was about 25 degrees!!! Beautiful weather but couldn't see the sun!!
We walked along way around Ningbo, we went back to our room, had a quiet drink, and a bit later, we walked again to find a place to eat dinner. Not far from our hotel was a place that looked good, it happened to be a Taiwan restaurant, food was really nice here, we have so much fun using chopsticks, which make our meal time longer but we are getting better. Back to the hotel for an early night for Clint, but I still had the Travelpod to catch up on so I had a late night again!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

We had donuts and coffeeWe had donuts and coffee
We had donuts and coffee

Clint had Red bean donut and I had cappuccino donut


22nd March 2015

Wow guys.. seems like you have done so much. What a great holiday. The countryside looks huge and 5he food looks good. You certainly are the adventurers. zTime is nearly up to come home but live your holiday well. Cheers Clint and Sue. Stay
safe. Ross and Katie

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb