The Best Day Yet


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
March 13th 2015
Published: March 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Out the door early, I had no problem finding my way to the Jilin Cultural Museum and truly enjoyed same. But those photos can wait. The really inspiring part happened leaving the museum. I heard music and realized it wasn't piped; it was live. So I followed the sounds and discovered the sweetest treasure trove of retirees who tell me they gather at 1pm daily to play music and dance. A quartet of very cool Chinese men: one in a fedora on a big, red bass drum, one on an antique trumpet perhaps... some sort of horn, one on cymbals and another on a hanging gong. They really rocked. Don't worry. I'm going back to record the music and video the dancers. To me they're beautiful!!!! And they're styling! I love them each and every one. There is a beauty of spirit, a twinkle in the eyes... a child like joy that kept giving as they danced. And oh my their costumes. You'll see. The fun attention to detail and whimsy is to me, again, simply beautiful. A few of them really, REALLY loved the camera. And one sweetest heart introduced himself as 95 and asked for a photo with me and a kiss. Of course I complied, so precious!



I'll be back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 41; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb