The problem with boredom...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Zhejiang » Hangzhou
February 22nd 2007
Published: February 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

BeforeBeforeBefore

I was unhappy with my hair...
I didn't get the job I went for the other week, which is a shame as it looked pretty good and they paid a decent wage. They asked me to give a lesson where I had to explain all these English language terms to four students, but I didn't actually know what these terms meant so I just skipped past them in the lesson. The woman evaluating me did say I had a good way with the students and offered me some part time work which made me feel a bit less of a loser, but I'm still trying to get a full time job with a visa.

I went for another interview last week too, which I haven't heard back from yet but that place looked kind of fun. The walls were bright yellow and blue - you can't go wrong in a place with yellow and blue walls. The problem with this place is that it's pretty far out and they don't pay so well - plus they haven't actually offered me a job. I'm hoping that's just because of the New Year and everything and people have been on holiday.

I haven't really been up much
AfterAfterAfter

...So I chopped it all off.
over the last week, I've done a little bit of Chinese plus I've been brushing up on my English skills. I've looked around Hangzhou some more too, done some reading... umm. Yep that's about it. The one notable thing I've done is shave my head. I was a little bit bored yesterday evening and I got to wondering what I'd look like without any hair, there was a mini electronic shaver I'd taken from John's place and I already had a pair of blunt scissors so I gave it a go. Some of the blame should rest with Mandy as when she was helping me update my image back in 2000 she never specifically said I shouldn't shave my hair. It wasn't on the list.. It wasn't on the list. It is possibly a bit too short, but my head's looked worse (black hair, bleached hair, long hair and the hair shaving in Gilwell). If I screw my face up I look like a thug so if I ever manage to get a FT teaching job at least I'll be able to scare the kids properly. It's so nice though being able to leave the house without checking my hair a dozen times beforehand, plus it feels funky to the touch.

Christine's coming back on Saturday and I'm going to ply her with food and drink so that she sorts out my internet for me which would be so good. Then if I still haven't heard back from English First (the school I went for an interview with) I'll get on the case with applying for jobs as I've been very slack despite the amount of free time I have. Richard said he had a friend who got a six month tourist visa from Hong Kong, which would be perfect as I could loads of part time jobs here and earn plenty if it wasn't for the fact I needed this visa. I'll see how it goes. Hope everyone's well back in the UK.

Advertisement



23rd February 2007

still missing having me as a bed-mate? well i think your hair looks grand, you did a good job! i let a girl i met in the hostel here in hanoi have a hack at my hair on the rooftop the day after i met her last week so im lookin stellar as well. well if youve been keepin up w/ my blog you'll know what we've been up to but tonite were heading off to sapa (up north) on an overnite train, but an extra special one. cause we have hard SEATS :S not even a bed, fuck! it's gonna be interesting! well i hope you land the job of your dreams soon (or at least....a job...) and keep me updated!
25th February 2007

I never thought you would dump surf hair. You've changed. I laughed for about 10 minutes when Mandy told me you'd shaved your head (I was thinking of the 'incident' in Gilwell-what a funny story) but it looks ok I guess. Better than mine anyway (short at the back, long at the sides, very short at the front. Anyway...) Get a job and sort out your drinking problem.
26th February 2007

well done the dilly
dilly congratulations on securing that teaching job p.s. nice buzz cut.
1st March 2007

Bonne Chance
Hi good luck with the job hunt - hope they come back with a positive response. I am now in my final month at Metal Bulletin Monthly - so I am starting to hunt too. Love the blog. What will you do next with your hair - dreads, a mohican perhaps?

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb