First days of work


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Zhejiang » Hangzhou
February 12th 2007
Published: February 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A carrot and fried bread popsicleA carrot and fried bread popsicleA carrot and fried bread popsicle

I though anything this random deserved a photo.
This is going to have to be quite a short entry as although I've moved into my own place now I can't connect to the internet there yet so I keep having to come back to Christine's place to use it (there's an internet cafe just down the road from where I live but I need skype and I like Christine's webcam) and the last bus leaves here at 20.00.

Anyhow, about my new place, it's awesome, and I don't use that word lightly. The actual apartment is so so I guess, there's a decent size bedroom a small kitchen and a room connecting the two. The shower's above the toilet and the only sink is the kitchen which I thought was unusual but you get used to stuff like that real quick. When I moved in, the place was a state but it's looking ok now although there's still loads to do. Katie left a bunch of stuff behind which was cool as it means I haven't had to go out and buy a whole heap of crap I'd have to leave behind when I leave. But the reason it's awsome is that since leaving London I haven't had
My new toiletMy new toiletMy new toilet

Everyone enjoys photos of toilets, this is a before photo by the way. Next time I'll take an after photo - it's almost like Changing Rooms.
my own space so over the last couple of days it's been real nice just doing what I want when I want. The main thing I've wanted to do is watch Prison Break, which I've been very successful at. Now I've got through the first two series in four days I think it's going to be hard adjusting not living with anyone.

The people here though are very friendly and I met a couple of guys through teaching but it's not anything like the pumping social life I enjoyed in London. I'm going for a full time teaching position tomorrow with a company called Web International, which would be great if I could get as it'd be teaching small groups of adults rather than the 30 or so kids I teach at the moment. Plus they'd be able to give me my elusive work visa that I've been after since arriving here and I'd meet more expats too.

So last weekend was my first proper teaching experience and I thought it went pretty well. The kids seemed to pay attention and I didn't have to beat any of them with the stick I bought along, so I was
At the guitar barAt the guitar barAt the guitar bar

It's called something else but I can't remember what and guys play live music here all night so it could be called the guitar bar.
pleased. The first lesson was the hardest but I think that was because I teaching a group of 10yr olds who had just finished a week of school and really didn't want to spend another two hours on a Friday evening with me learning how to get around an airport. The kids I teach all go to normal school during the week then at the weekend they come for extra English lessons, they're all aged between 8-12 and there are just under 30 kids a class. It's good fun though, I play games with them and go though an exercise book. Some of them are actually very good at English already. Unfortunately because of Spring Break (Chinese New Year) there aren't any more classes for a month which is annoying.

Well hopefully I'll soon get the internet up and running at home so I'll be able to spend more time on my entries.

Peace Out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Katie and RichardKatie and Richard
Katie and Richard

Katie's the girl who's flat and job I've taken and Richard works at the same school. He's half of all the people I've met more than once here.
Out of the busOut of the bus
Out of the bus

I'll stick a random shot in everytime.


18th February 2007

Your blog is awesome! I almost feel like I'm out there with you! Though kind of glad I'm not, it sounds quite scary and why the hell would anyone put a shower above the toilet! Just read all your entries and laughed a lot, especially at the chicken foot photo! Sounds like you're doing really well and have met some lovely people, good luck with getting the visa and then you'll be sorted. Look forward to the next update, lots of love xxx

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb