Lijiang - Tiger Leaping Gorge


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Tiger Leaping Gorge
October 30th 2009
Published: November 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today we took a 2 hour or so bus ride from Lijiang to the Tiger Leaping Gorge.

The history of Tiger Leaping Gorge is that a tiger leaped the gorge (I know, hence the name duh!) while escaping hunters. The gorge itself is one of the deepest in the world, with one side of the gorge is the Jade Dragon Snow mountain. The area is very popular for hiking/trekking, our tour took the easier option to take a well paved flat path from a carpark to the gorge and Tiger Leaping Ston (about 1k walk). There were some rickshaws that you could take, around 40yuan each way.

The gorge days could be numbered, apparently there is approval to build a dam on the river Jingsha River which will effectively destroy the gorge as it is known. However the development is currently on hold (per our guide).

You have to admire the Chinese, as the path that we walked on has in the past been closed due to rock slides, they just build a tunnel into the side of the mountain!

I would love to come back one day and do hiking trail, which is a two-three day hike.

On our way back to town, we visited a lookout point that had amazing views of the surrounding area.

As this was due to be our second last night in China we decided to head out for a few drinks and waste the last of those Yuan on some tasty beers. Unfortunately I didn’t have too many Yuan left (well I thought I didn’t, when I got home I found 500 in my bag - emergency cash I forgot about), but I still managed to have my share of beers. Most of our tour group thought the club we were in was too noisy for them, so it was Judith, John (our guide) and myself to drink on behalf of those that left.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

P1020502P1020502
P1020502

Night Out, before it got too loud...
P1020520P1020520
P1020520

Not sure what i was doing here...
P1020527P1020527
P1020527

Two bald wanna be monks(eys)..


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb