Who's been sleeping in my bed?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Kunming
August 3rd 2011
Published: August 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Back breaking workBack breaking workBack breaking work

Note it is the women doing all the heavy work

For this part of the journey and palled up with two couples, Tim and Charlotte and Tony and Heidi. It was like a mass exodus leaving the hostel as we all had been there for a while now. Infront of me was my first overnight bus in China, now I had seen them before and basically it is a bus with beds in, be it they are built on the specs of a Chinese person but I can survive one night of being curled up in a foetal postion, but what I had failed to pay any attention to was how the beds were laid out, which I will move onto later.

Our bus wasn’t until the evening so we had a little stop off at a part of the highway which was totally devoted to kilns which made all number of clay items, from bricks to plant pots ornamental figures and roof tiles. There were dozens of them all selling the same thing all leading of winding muddy paths and amongst them all slap bang in the middle was a temple totally devoted to making rice wine and a local who was only too happy to pose for photos and was even more overwhelmed to see an image of himself.

Once we were done with the kiln tour we then headed for a bit of street food and then the bus. Once on the bus, which only has one gangway and that you have to slide down sideways down to get to the back of the bus and our beds for the night. What a surprise we had, all five of us allocated the back row of beds and the beds resembled some hippy love in, they were all joined together. If we didn’t know each other by now we certainly would by the morning. We all just found it totally hysterical and all the Chinese in turn found us hysterical.

In the end the people I was travelling with made the journey so much more bearable infact a memorable one. I did manage to get some sleep and it could have been a whole lot worse. I don’t know whether it is a good thing but I do have another overnight bus to get through to get to Vietnam but at least this time I have been able to pick my own coffin.

So all going well the next time I will be blogging it will be from Vietnam, today I am waiting to get my passport and then it is goodbye China



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb