Kunming Yuatong Temple


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Kunming
September 14th 2009
Published: September 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's the largest Buddhist comlpex in Kunming, a Tang dynasty design, 1200 years old. What was best for me here was...that part of it is being renovated so I could see the bare wooden structures of temple buildings, before they will colour it. Some parts were still being put together, so I coould hang out there and just observe the workers.
Again it's a peacefull oasis in the middle of a city. What was peculiar at this temple for me was a large number of all kinds of turtles in the main temple pond. At first you get an impression, that there are only few among the always present goldfish, but then you realise it's a kind of a turtle sanctuary! So I have a suggestion for my brother, where to take his turtle to outlive him! Just here, just here...


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

detaildetail
detail

ninjas!


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb