day 6


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yangtze River
October 30th 2016
Published: October 30th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Day 2 on the boat. Didn't partake in any tours today as it was a rainy cold day. And let's face it, I was exhausted. It's been early days and late nights and I thought I'd take it easy and just enjoy the amenities on the boat. So after breakfast, I headed for a foot massage. Wow, fantastic. He worked from the tips of my toes to the tops of my thighs... And for a full hour! it was very hard to stay awake!! So people on my tour who had it done earlier said it was painful... But I really enjoyed it! I coulda stayed for another hour! I then walked around the ship. Not much to do. Everything is very rigid. breakfast, lunch and dinner at a specific time... No snacks ? Thank goodness we stalked up on snacks and booze before we boarded. If you wanted a drink at the bar, the prices were equivalent to bar prices. A coffee, ordinary coffee in a fancy tea cup costs 10 Canadian dollars!!!!! Attended a pearl demonstration... How they extract the pearls, make the jewellery, how to tell real from fake. That was interesting. Thiking about it now, I would have rather suffered thru the rain and cold on a tour, just to get off the boat. If you don't do an excursion you can't leave the boat.



Tonight was also the captains goodbye dinner. That again was so-so. Not much I would like to eat. The night show was.... Are you ready for it... Karaoke!! And yes, my tour group got up and sang a song in Chinese that our tour guide had phonetically spelt for us. I swear there was at least 20 Chinese people video taping us on their phones! That was fun. Our guide was so happy!



Now to speak of passing two of the three gorges.... Amazing. Fantastic. Beautiful. Every fabulous adjective would do.



Sadly I don't have pictures that I can upload as of yet. Apparently was passed thru the ship locks at night, which takes about 40 minutes to pass thru. It woke up many people thru the noise, me... I slept thru it all! Gawd I'm tired!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb