Tibetan techno


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Lhasa
October 30th 2007
Published: October 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oxygen supplyOxygen supplyOxygen supply

me on the train with the oxygen supply in my nose
If China is full of paradoxes, then Tibet is even more extreme!! Arriving into Lhasa, the capital, you are met by rows and rows of clothes shops playing Tibetan techno or worse - Ace of Base (yes, I am afraid this is the only country in the world that has NOT caught on that AoB is no longer popular!!) and also local Tibetan people and monks in traditional robes praying on the street, throwing themselves on the ground in the name of faith. You don't know what to expect from this city which is both stuck in an ancient time, still struggling to be very modern. Yet I cannot help but to love it. The people are friendly and a lot more laid back than the rest of China. Things move in their own pace, nothing seems rushed.

To start with, I arrived in Lhasa two days ago by train. We got through without showing a permit, although we were worried for a while. The train ride was quite interesting, as it went up past 5200m, and there were oxygen outlets on the train for people that suffer from altitude sickness. I am quite susceptible to get altitude sickness as I have a cold, but so far so good (I do get out of breath when I walk up stairs though, Lhasa is 3700m above sea level). I am heading off to Everest Base camp on Thursday 1st November and will be away for 6 days. On the way there we will stop in Gyantse, Shigatse, Tring and some other places. It will be fun, although I am worried about doing any excessive trekking. I don't think it will be too much trekking, more like walking, as we are stopping in all these cities along the way, and the rest of the time is spent in the car. I am sharing a jeep with a Polish guy, an Irish girl and a Portuguese girl as well. There are two jeeps, the other jeep holds five other Portuguese guys, all going to the Nepalese border. I, however, am making my way back to Lhasa, and will eventually go back to China via Shangri- La.

Yesterday I went with Tamsyn (the English girl I've befriended in Chengdu, travelling with her boyfriend Ian who has been ill for a few days, poor guy!) to the Potala Palace to reserve some tickets for today (you have to do that the day before). After that we had a look around the Barkhor area, which is the old part of town. We passed food stalls, shops, people praying etc. It was quite a cultural expereince.

Today we went to the palace and had a look around. It is quite a steep climb up to the top, but the scenery is breathtaking. So far we've been lucky with the weather, sunshine and warm weather all day. It does get cold at night though. Anyway, you're not allowed to take photos inside the Potala, but I can show you what it looks like from outside. The Potala Palace is (or was) the home of the Dalai Lamas, ranging from 7th century when it was built. 8 out of 13 Dalai Lamas are buried in the palace, but only 7 of the 8 so called "stupas" (ie tombs) are visible to visitors. We had a conversation with a monk who gave us a white sacred scarf and blessed us with a good life and good health. It was quite interesting, he was very friendly and his English was very good. I was quite taken aback, almost tearful,
Inside Potala PalaceInside Potala PalaceInside Potala Palace

Before you were denied taking photographs
as I thought it was a lovely gesture by this man. Bless him! 😊

As for my foot, it's getting better day by day. I try to take it easy, but there are a tonne of things I want to do and see, so I am probably putting unnecessary strain on it. Maybe a few days on the road will heal it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Old townOld town
Old town

around Barkhor Square
yak butteryak butter
yak butter

sold around Barkhor Square


31st October 2007

Hi eva, so nice to hear all your stories, have a great time in Tibet!

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb