Chengdu, Chengdon't?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
October 26th 2007
Published: October 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

brain teaserbrain teaserbrain teaser

Could be eaten in a hote pot.
One thing I have noticed in China are the extreme paradoxes that exist. It is meant to be communist but to me it is one of the most capitalist nations I have ever visited, including the US. Really, there's a Starbucks on every corner, and McDonalds and even KFC, what's that all about? I came to see China and so far I haven't had any culture shock. Maybe because I have only been in major cities, which is why I am dying to go to the countryside.

Anyway, I am now in Chengdu, the capital of the province of Sichuan. Sichuan is famous for its spicey food, and one of its delicacies is the hot pot. It's where you have a pot of spicey broth boiling in front of you and you choose which ever food to cook. It all comes on sticks and you choose what food you want and afterwards they count how many sticks you have. You can choose between fish (including fish head), pork, chicken (including chicken feet), tofu, vegetables of any shape and, of course, brain. Hmm.... needless to say I avoided the latter option, but I did take a picture of it to show you I was not kidding. It's not for the squeamish ones though, so look away if you don't want to see it, lol.

I have just been taking it easy here in Chengdu. Me and George parted ways, which was probably for the better, as we both wanted to travel on our own. The hostel I am staying at is the best hostel so far, Sims Cozy Guesthouse, and it costs a mere 20 yuan (20kr or 1.20 pounds), which won't break the bank. I did some sightseeing around town, but there is really not much to see, not like Xian, which I preferred. Most of the time I have spent taking it easy at the hostel, resting my foot and planning my next move, which I have now decided. I am going to Tibet tonight with the train. It will take 2 days to get to the capital Lhasa. At the moment there are no permits being ditributed to enter the country, so me and some guys from the hostel are just chancing it, hoping not to get caught. If we do, we'll just pay the fine and that will be it.

I managed to catch a cold on top of everything. I have been coughing and sweating and feeling generally bummed out. Fortunately there have been some nice people at the hostel, and after taking lits of medicine and painkillers and eathing lots of oranges, I am now starting to recover. I hope it gets better by the time I get to Lhasa, as I don't think the high altitude will be too good for a blocked nose. My foot is still bad, but hoping it will also recover on the train journey. I had some very good and cheap foot massage at a place across the road, so now I feel slightly better. The guy there had knuckles of steel, it was like Thai massage, quite painful, but it does help.

In a brief insert here, I did go to see the pandas, they were quite cute but nothing special. Just though I'd mention it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

the not so spicey hot potthe not so spicey hot pot
the not so spicey hot pot

divided into 2- one spicey and one mild


13th February 2009

Mmmmm!
Interesting pictures there! I would like to visit China after i finish university hopefully. I have been to Hong Kong, so technically i have been to China before. Thanks for sharring, Brendan

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb