Local Cuisine Adaptation 1


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
May 19th 2010
Published: May 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Anyone who knows me, knows that I am obsessed with food. I'm Cantonese, there's no escaping it. There's nothing my family loves more than eating. Family vacation destinations were chosen based upon the region's cuisine selection. It was only in recent years that I realized some people travel to tourist destinations to sight see....gasp, gasp. That was a serious revelation to me.

And there's nothing more exciting to a Cantonese person than Chinese food. So you know that you will see lots of pictures of food here right? Right.

Last night the very kind staff at the University cafeteria made this for us. The staff stayed well past midnight waiting for our bus to arrive and serving our meal!

It was the perfect meal after a long day of travel. Light, comforting, and the soup warmed me up during a surprisingly cold night.

They also made tomatoes and eggs. My favorite dish from home.

I know that some of my American classmates are having some trouble adjusting to the diet here still. But I'm totally in my element. This was delicious.

Breakfast


My roommate got this at a coffee shop across the street from Nankai University.


Unfortunately I didn't take pictures of the dumplings I had for dinner, but I assure you they were the most. amazing. dumplings. I was too distracted with my communication issues. It seems that people want to speak to me in Chinese here. I haven't regularly spoken Mandarin in about four years. My brain hurts!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb