The Commute


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
May 19th 2010
Published: May 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Since we arrived so late last night, we got an entire day off to recover from the jet lag.

Unfortunately for me, I'm one of those individuals who do not experience jet lag until about a week later. I fell asleep around 2 am and woke up once at 4:30 am, and again at 6:30 am. I've been wide awake all day. I still can't sleep and it's 11:30 at night. Uhm, hello. Can I request a deferred recovery day? I'm fairly certain I will crash sometime next week!

This was the bus we took into Tianjin from Beijing International Airport. It was quite cozy inside.

Since it was so late at night, the roads were fairly quiet. Lots of semis, but not too many cars. Our bus driver seemed to relish honking and cutting people off. I could understand the motivation for cutting people off (getting to destination faster), but I could never figure out his honking system. Three hours of observation yielded completely random data for me. I think brain was WAY too tired to figure it out.

I do know this. Unlike my previous trips to southern China, I was in no way terrified for my life on this bus. I believe the driver was in complete control despite his antics.

We arrived at the hotel on campus. Doesn't it look fancy? We were so excited at how beautiful the lobby looked.


Then we got out off the bus, and were directed to the student dorms to the left of this beautiful building. Here's what our REAL lobby looked like. Talk about misleading.


Actually our dorms are really nice. Considering my previous experiences with Chinese lodging, I was pleasant surprised. There was plenty of space for my roommate and me. Best of all, we got a private bathroom...with a western toilet! Hurray for not squatting.




Advertisement



20th May 2010

squats are good!
Squatting means no seats to worry about, working out the legs a little ;) (Up, down, up, down) Two pluses for chinese style. Though I do have to say that the elderly do appreciate the low seats available now that require no squatting, at least in Taiwan. :)

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb