Not in Kansas anymore...or Florida for that matter


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
May 16th 2010
Published: May 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

In August 2009 my boss sent me an email from the USF College of Public Health about a new study abroad course in Tianjin, China for Summer 2010.

I don't think she realized at that point that it was 3 weeks long in another country. Barbara, are you reading this? Dr. G? Thanks for letting me take a month off of work y'all!

I jumped on the opportunity faster than a rabid teenager on the Backstreet Boys. I had always wanted to study abroad in China. Yes, I realize that I have been to China before. Yes, I realize I AM Chinese. I'll probably have more opportunities to visit China than most other Americans in this lifetime. But I wanted a chance to spread my wings a little bit. I want to experience my heritage while not being under the over-protective wings of my family. Grow up saddling two cultures and you'll always wonder what you were missing out on over the fence (or in this case, over the big pond). This is my chance to see what I missed.

Long story short, 15 other students and myself arrived at Nankai University in Tianjin, China around 11:30 pm last night. The travel was a grueling 24 hours that involved two flights, a long bus ride, huge airports, and a lot of body wipes. For the record, showers are exponentially better than Wet Wipes.

The curriculum is Global Public Health, and part of our assignment will be journaling about our experience here. As a recovering blog junkie, what better excuse is there to tell the world what I'm doing than to do it for good grades?

So friends and family back home, enjoy reading, chuckle at my mishaps, and cure me of homesickness through emails or comments. I would love to hear from you. =)

Advertisement



21st May 2010

miss ya
I've read the previous posts and laughed out loud several times. Miss ya and keep the stories coming. We're holding down the fort for ya and I am glad you are doing so good. We'll try to make you feel like a celebrity for a few days when you come back but as you know working in public health we don't have the $$$ to pay you for your autograph....Awesome China Girl!
21st May 2010

miss ya
I've read the previous posts and laughed out loud several times. Miss ya and keep the stories coming. We're holding down the fort for ya and I am glad you are doing so good. We'll try to make you feel like a celebrity for a few days when you come back but as you know working in public health we don't have the $$$ to pay you for your autograph....Awesome China Girl!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb