The public health message of the day is...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
May 19th 2010
Published: May 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I've always associated Asia with bad driving. Last time I visited China I was 21. And my aunt still insisted on holding my hand as I crossed the street. Apparently we Americans are incapable of fending for ourselves in this environment.

Besides for rolling my eyes, I never paid much attention until today. Nine Americans trying to cross the street in China resulted in many near misses from taxi's and cyclists. Maybe there was a method to my aunt's madness after all.

Apparently Tianjin (and bordering towns) are trying to do something about their terrible traffic practices. I saw these PSAs everywhere, and I loved them. I love how they make me giggle. Admit it, they're comical images. I love how simple the message is, and how the picture conveys the point perfectly. The writing was barely necessary. And I love how they stuck with me enough that I woke up this morning wanting pictures. If I want pictures, then that's a sign of good marketing right?

I wonder if there's any statistics indicating their effectiveness....

There's this one...


and this one...


This was a favorite of mine. I actually saw a woman doing this exact thing five minutes before this picture was snapped. 1 out of the millions that roam this city, hmmmmm.


This one reminded me too much of my $700 mishap a few months ago. Except I side swiped an RV instead of rear ending it. Maybe they should put a sign like this on I-275!!


I'll add more as I see more of the city.








Advertisement



19th May 2010

LOL I love those pictures but I think they're rather distracting... I think I would keep looking at those while driving which would probably cuz accidents that they are trying to prevent.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb