in search of the 'real' China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
July 13th 2007
Published: July 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post


we be jammin'
After more than 4 days of gathering thoughts and pictures since the last time I wrote, it's time to do so again. This first of 4 weeks in China is being spent almost exclusively here in Tianjin, the booming 'special economic zone' here on the northern coast. It's not major destination on the tourist circuit, yet this time has been special because of all of this things we've had access to. Let it be known that to know James Foster is to be well connected, and we've benefited from that greatly.

But is it the 'real' China?

To answer that, I suppose you have to examine what that means, and for that matter, what exactly is 'culture'. Is culture just the arts, or for that matter the traditional arts? How about things like traditional dress or foods? Is it ancient ruins and temples? Is it what we think of when we ponder the 'real', stereotypes, and the 'typical' things I already had in mind before I got here?

If that's the case, then my job as a traveler is a simplified one because once I see and recognize these things, I can just say, "Ah-ha! There's the real China!" Yet in my experience, the hidden richness is found in the fact that there is a lot more to it than that.

To me, 'culture' is traditional and contemporary, both how people lived and expressed themselves in the past as well as how they adapt to and shape their modern environment. It evolves so fast sometimes that you really can't put your finger right on it because once you do, it moves on to the next evolution. Later in this trip, I'll experience and share a lot of things that we all think of when we imagine China, see in documentaries, or read about in guide books.

In the meantime, I'm taking-in and being enriched by the hidden China that falls outside of that, and that's what I'm interested in sharing through pictures and simple tales.

DAYS 3-5 IN A SMALL NUTSHELL
Monday through Wednesday were filled with leisurely wanderings, sitting on corners and hiding behind bus stops while snapping pictures, meal after meal out while spending time with new aquaintances and friends, and pushing-through in spite of non-stop intestinal distress.

Talking with Chinese--when their English is good enough communicate with me--provides a sometimes-suprising insight into their thinking. For example, during Wednesday's dinner (I didn't eat), James, Pachi and I were joined by 3 Fillipino and 3 Chinese friends of James, and the latter all being MBA students. I've been somewhat suprised by the self-awareness Chinese sometimes have of their nation as a world player. "Do you think that this will be the 'Chinese Century'?," I was asked. Conversation got even more interesting when I tossed out the comment, "Capitalism can be dangerous," upon which time 'Joe'--who I didn't even know spoke English--asked me what I meant by that.

Perhaps I shouldn't have been, but I was slightly suprised to hear these MBA students express more than just blind optimism in the market economy. They seemed to share the two big concerns that I and just about everyone else has about the almost-unbelievable economic growth here: the ruin of the environment and the huge wealth gap being created. It was fascinating talking to these guys about this stuff.

Also at dinner, we met Kathy, a young woman from the Phillipines visiting a friend here who invited us to go with her to Beijing the following day. With a ride including a private driver, and interpreter, and the chance to spend the day exploring the Forbidden City and doing some shopping, we jumped on the chance, which is where I'll leave things for now as I download pictures and gather thoughts for the next--and more colorful--blog entry. Stay tuned...

--Shaun Hopkins


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



11th July 2007

Recent Pictures
Shaun and Pachi, I am glad that you are having a good time. Your description of everyday life in China is very interesting because you show a side of China that you do not normally get through other sources. Also, I appreciate the photos. It lets me experience your trip vicariously. Looking forward to reading about your further travels. Love, Walt
13th July 2007

Greetings from the Eifel (Germany)!!!
Looks like you all are having a great time. We are nearing the end of our trip and preparing to be dropped back into 'normal' life :( On the bright side, I have had a great time seeing a place that is different from anywhere I've been so far:))) I hope all is going well and I will keep up on your travels and maybe even add some comments! Keep showing the world how Austinites do it! Hank...
16th July 2007

yo!
Shaun y Pachi, Hope all is well. How was the beach and camping? Where to next? Any decisions? Austin is hot and pleasantly calm, though my school work is heating up, still no word on a new job. Hope you got the video camera to work. What's up with a call to America for technical support... Hasta leugo. Ryan

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb