A day in the Sun


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Guangyuan
June 19th 2018
Published: November 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today I have to replenish my stock of goods. Sometimes I can get my stock up here in the city, but sometimes I need to go down to the farms myself like today. I am off to the farms to find my best supplier. I have been working for this new expansion to my store, so I must be able to sell as much product all of the time! My favorite crop to sell is definitely the champa rice that was mentioned earlier. Not only does it taste great, but it's cheap to buy and in high demand! As I near the farmlands, I can see the change of landscape change from the urban city to the rural farms with animals everywhere and fields filled with growing crops. You will see tons of men negotiating on the farm about money or taxes. Right next to the farm is a small market, nothing compared to the one back in Chang'an, where farmers sell their yields to merchants who then resell at the cities. I head over to my supplier's stand, his name is Kadir, and I greet him with a bow. He greeted me with a hello and began to tell me about how well business has been going for him recently due to the influx of Muslim traders in the area. The Muslims came all the way from Baghdad, another trading city, to buy Chinese goods. The traders have set up a small group of homes all in the same area, around here to be able to make as much profit and buy as many goods as they can before heading all the way back along the somewhat dangerous silk road. Apparently they really are interested in the champa rice because of the struggle that they have been having in their own empire to farm under their harsh conditions. They think that they may have better luck at farming with the champa rice instead of the other crops that they have been farming. As I was talking to Kadir, I realized that a statue of emperor Xuanzong has been put up. Kadir sees my gaze and tells me that the government came in four months ago and have just recently finished putting it up. I happily paid my 200 paper yuan, and took my 10 pounds of champa rice. Finally as I was going home, I saw the most beautiful Taoist picture I have ever seen. It was in the window of the store across from me and it was a destructive waterfall right next to a calming forest of trees on a hilltop. I finally get home and am ready to fall asleep. Goodnight and good luck.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb