Tent adventures.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
June 13th 2017
Published: June 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

So, first night of camp, Sienna, Che’la and I thought it would be suitable for all of us to sleep in the same tent. Sleeping in the same tent sounds fine until we realized that it was a one-man tent that we planned to squeeze in (as well as having heaps of luggage shoved in the back of it).

It was at night when we were playing a game with the Chinese students, and it started raining, so we all went to our tents, fixing anything that could cause water coming in. Once all of us were sitting quietly crammed in the tent, I’m pretty sure we all came to a telepathic conclusion that none of us were going to sleep well. I lay there with Sienna and her long limbs on my left, Che’la on my right and consumed by my sleeping bag. Lying there boiling hot, I just listened to the patter, patter on the tent roof, when I felt a patter, patter on my face. THE TENT WAS LEAKING!! I told Sienna and Che’la and we all competed in paper, scissors, rock to work out who was to go out in the rain and fix it. I lost and was cast out like Scar in Lion King 2.

I remembered we had a tarp, thank the heavens, so I used it to drape across our tent, stopping most of the water. I observed the tent more and realized it was the seams that were leaking, so we all tried our best to cram up even more so that our bags weren’t touching the walls of the tent. We were safe. I uncomfortably went to sleep, thinking the rain would soon go away, but waking up at 3 o’clock busting for the toilet with the rain pouring down. But that is another story to tell.





Tamara

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb