Autumn


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
May 31st 2017
Published: June 1st 2017
Edit Blog Post

We have been in China for 6 and a bit days now. It’s been hectic and so interesting. It took me about two days to get over my lack of sleep that I didn’t get on the first night. Since this weekend was the Dragon Boat Festival, the students at Chengdu Waldorf School had Monday and Tuesday off. Ebon, Bethany and my Chinese host families took us to the Sichuan Mountains. It turns out the families wanted us to climb a mountain (might I mention it was the tallest mountain in Chengdu). Practically everyone in my class was looking forward to going back to school (which is totally unheard of). The cities are huge and the amount of people that live here make Australia look uninhabited. Food is a matter of trial and error. Bethany tried rabbit stomach without releasing it and we swear we saw moving octopus balls (but apparently the balls only move in Japan). I get up at 6 am and get back home around 7pm. I have a western toilet and shower, it’s so nice and clean compared to the public toilets in the mountains. I love spending time with my host family and my class mates. China is so intense but I love it so much. I miss being able to have clean water everywhere I go and the air stung my throat the first couple of days. The stars are nowhere to be found.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb