Summah's third week - the first day of the moon cake festival


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
September 18th 2016
Published: September 18th 2016
Edit Blog Post

THREE WEEKS GONE, TWO TO GO! The first day of the moon cake festival was a long day, full with eating and funny stories!! My home stay family and I visited Yashoda’s home stay apartment for a delicious lunch. We ate sweet potato covered with sticky caramel, roasted beans and cashews with rice and noodles. After, we visited one of the Chinese teachers who greeted us with black tea, chocolate snacks and fruit! My belly was a mountain afterwards and I went to the toilet about five times in two hours. Because of his kind soul he gave me expensive black tea as a gift because I complimented on how good it was!

We left in the late afternoon and went to a festival inside a temple, hosted by Buddhist. They were celebrating the Moon Cake Festival! There was singing, music and a woman who had one hand, who played the piano magnificently. It was a full moon that night which shined brightly through the night. Because I am still used to Cairns time I felt tired at 8:30pm and leant against a rubbish bin, wanting to go to sleep. My home stay buddy took me to a restaurant outside for me to rest and I stayed there for over an hour until 9:40pm! We eventually got on a bus at 10:20pm after trying to get an UBER car or a taxi. We reached our bus stop and we had to walk for about 20 minutes until we reached home!! I fell asleep at around at 11pm, which has been the latest I have stayed up in China!! It was a really busy day and I made every bit of it count!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb