Great warm up (ahem)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
September 10th 2006
Published: September 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This time I did not enjoy a good 'piss up' before I got on the plane. So what better way to correct this oversight by drinking a riduculous amount after getting off the plane! I think this is not what they meant when they said to 'drink a lot' to prevent altitude sickness...

It was great though :-) I highly recommend hitting the clubs in Chengdu. Babi II is where I spend the eve with a bottle of delisiously smooth Balintines (sorry have to plug it because is was a themed party) in the company of Han, Bob (sorry his Chinese name is just to complicated) and Shirley. Music was good, alcohol was abundant and my jetlag was perfect for the occasion. Just a note to all my girl friends... if you ever want to feel like an incredibly tall Swedish model... Chinese clubs are the way to go! Benefits: you are taller than most people around you, you might be the only blond western girl in the place, staring from the local men is not uncommon (including some interesting backtracking for a second look, and tripping and falling over). Nice! Shame I did not have my camera on me... or maybe better considering the slightly drunken state in which I returned to the hotel in the middle of the night.

So now I'm at the airport again and my flight to Lhasa has mysteriously been rescheduled to a later time. Ah well, at least this gave me time to figure out how to change this computer from Chinese characters to roman ones (yes, you would think that I would know how to do it since we do it all the time in my job... still it is more tricky when the whole damn computer is unreadable) and still have time to actually write this little entry.

Just for those of you who actually want to know; the flights were all fine. The time passed quickly from London to Shanghai and I caught my connecting flight without problems. Arriving in Chengdu I expected a bit of culture shock but I guess that Vietnam is still fresh in my mind so not being able to communicate and having to get by on pointing and feeling like a bit of an idiot is fine. The Chinese seem a little less patient and friendly than the Vietnamese but other than that I feel right at home.

Can't wait to leave though (one night in Chengdu is enough, it is a modern city with just 10 million people in it and not much to see, except for the nightlife of course!). I'll check back with you when I get to Lhase... 3595m altitude. Better start drinking water now!

Advertisement



10th September 2006

Good luck! Looking forward to read more stories! I'm very jealous! Big Hugs
10th September 2006

My adventerous sister
You now average two or three extremely adventurous holidays per year. That is awesome! On top of that you do a million other things. I am very proud of you. You are planting the family flag all over Asia now. If you want to try fishing, you should come over to our house. Bring the photos of this and other trips as we have some catching up to do!
11th September 2006

Thanks bro! Not sure if fishing is my thing, come up with extreme fishing and I'll be there. Anyway, hope to make my way over to Norway soon. But first I have a few mountains to climb! x Fi
12th September 2006

Swedish Model
To the lovely Swedish model Fiona!!! Have a awesome time girl - we are all very proud of you! Enjoy your time in the mountains and keep your updates coming. No more alcohol for you until you get on the flight home!!! Much love, Kim

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb