Tuesday is my new favorite


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
September 7th 2010
Published: September 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

General and listening comprehension classes until noon, and then I was home free. We had lunch at Relish. My noodles were painfully spicy. I got a milk tea on the way back to the dorm to cut the pain.

Qiang from English corner texted me. "I will come UpCoffee at 3 will meet you there." Or something along those lines. But I do not need a middle-aged hanger on who wants me to teach him English while I want to learn Chinese. So I didn't meet Qiang at Up in the Air Coffee. I went to a massive, four story shopping complex with Clare and Maria. It is a honeycomb of tiny shop/booths with clothes, wigs, accessories, shoes and bags. And you can bargain. I spent almost all of the money I had in my wallet at the time. Far too much. 100 USD maybe. That may not seem bad, but I have been spending a lot of money. I think. It is hard to tell with the conversion rate.

It is hard to find clothes that fit here. I am so tall. And I can't buy any shoes with my massive size eleven feet. All of the dresses I bought are tunics on me. So at LC I will be able to wear them with leggings.

It took a really long time to find a taxi back to the dorm. We were in the center of the city, which is extremely crowded. Every taxi that passed was occupied. We had to walk until we got to a back street.

As we were going into the dorm, Audrey and Jeff came out on their way to Bookworm-- cafe/bookstore/library/restaurant/bar, catering to English-speaking expatriates. I know I shouldn't have, but I tagged along, and Maria came too. It took us a long time again to get a taxi there. Two empties passed and ignored us. But eventually we made it.

I had a veggie omelette and felt really satisfied. Audrey ordered cheesecake and french fries. A beautiful combination.

We got back to the dorm around eight and I did my homework while watching a Chinese period drama on television.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb