The Giant Panda


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
February 8th 2009
Published: February 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, we managed to find a Mexican - Peter's Tex Mex may be the only one in the whole of Chengdu, but it was certainly very nice (for pudding we had chocolate chip, coconut and walnut pie - need I say more?). The only downside to it was that I think I ended up drinking the water that we were meant to wash our hands in. I thought it could have been my 7-Up, because it was lemony, but it was also warm and slightly...soapy. A mistake only a Brit could make! And then, as we walked back, I realised why I like this city so much; it feels almost Mediterranean. The air was slightly warm, and we walked by all these little parks, with people playing games of cards in them, etc. A very nice atmosphere.

And today we went out to Chengdu Giant Panda Breeding Centre, and at first I was worried that we weren't actually going to see any, but as soon as feeding time came around, they all wandered out of hiding. They are possibly the cutest, quirkiest animals in the world, but they aren't the least bit majestic. They just lie there on their backs, munching loudly on bamboo, looking out at us curiously. We saw some of the babies (absolutely adorable!), wrestling with each other, or climbing all the way up the bars of the enclosure, but, because they were behind glass, we couldn't get any good pictures of them. It was impossible to get bored watching them, and we just stood there for ages, fascinated by them, even though they technically weren't really doing much! I think they may have become my new favourite animals, hehe!

The problem is, to get there for feeding time, we had to leave ridiculously early, and ended up with the rest of the day free (no money to do anything else), but tomorrow we're going to have a nice long lie-in 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



8th February 2009

Ahhhhhhhhhh.......
How cute. Can I have one, please. Would make a great present from China. Mumxxxxxxxxxxxxx
9th February 2009

Wish i was there
It's good that you are enjoying the atmosphere of the city. I must say i am very jealous right now, seeing that you have had a truly moving experience on your travels. I know i would have loved to of been there to see the pandas in real life, pictures and words just can't compare to real life. Try to wake up before midday. :-}
9th February 2009

awwwwwwww
awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww :-)
10th February 2009

Too gorgeous to be real!
Those pandas are unbelievably gorgeous. It's fantastic how they appear to be posing for the camera. They're great pictures! I'm really pleased to get a snippet of your experiences and will continue to follow with interest (and envy!). Take good care of each other. Kathy, Bob and Jake x
14th February 2009

I see what you mean!
Earlier you were talking about the cruelty to animals. although they seem to have lots of space, these polar bears have all got black eyes! does the Red Panda not know that it's a grandiose cat?
22nd February 2009

HHHHHHOOOOOWWWWWWW CCCCCCCCCCUUUUUUUUUUUUTTTTTTTTTTTEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Those pandas are soooooooooooooooo cute! Please can you hide one in your bag and bring it home for me? Actually bring two because my friend loves pandas! Thank you for the postcard/birthday card I had a great birthday and I got lots of cool stuff! Oh and also I got my ears pierced! I got little red ones and they gave me a free pair of blue earrings aswell! Love you Ceri from Ami xoxoxox

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb