Wutaishan 五台山


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanxi » Wutaishan
October 7th 2009
Published: October 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Early in the morning the temperature may be in the 30’ or lower. I am the only one with the down vest and wind breaker on. People on the bus make fun of me. I was the only one with short sleeve on before and now the only one with down vest on. At least I do not need to jump up and down to keep myself warm.

When we arrived the temple there are tons of people plus live opera is on. People wait in line to buy incents and candles; and wait in line to burn it. I was told not to buy any since the price are super rip off. I am not a Buddhist anyway. May be I should do what Phil did in Sichuan last time to get some good luck.

After a lousy breakfast and a few more temples, we started the long journey to
Taiyuen 太原. We stop by a vinegar factory with 600 years of history of producing vinegar. You can taste and buy vinegar but no pressure. They only closed the door for presentation to American tourists.

We also stopped by the Mansion of the Chang’s family, another rich and famous for 60 rmb, not worth it. They not even give me student discount, may be not run by government. A little tired of the rich and famous mansions, they never mentioned the thousands served them by lost their whole freedom.

We check in another two stars hotel ( Chinese rating ), a little cleaner and nonstop water supply. Hot water still only comes on certain time only. Dinner is not included tonight. Actually is better so I can find myself some decent foods. There are quite a few restaurants near by. I think is safe walking in the dark also.

I stay up late to work on the pictures. There was fire works at mid night for some reasons; otherwise I will be wakening up.

The morning call was another pounding on the door in the morning.



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

BuddhaBuddha
Buddha

another money making buddha
Temple Morning 1Temple Morning 1
Temple Morning 1

It is only 7:00am and cold


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb