from one home to our second home--back in Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
August 11th 2009
Published: August 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

my crewmy crewmy crew

took these cuties to breakfast at the infamous walker brothers in wilmette
The deal is I am up at 3am cobbling together a post to make up for the 2 week absence. I am back from my blog-vacation. I missed the ritual but the time away was probably good for me too. We were so incredibly busy and I had inconsistent Internet access. But now, across the world again, I am connected and back in story telling mode.

The night before we left Chicago

I am typing this at Natalie and Matt's place--my across the street friends and neighbors. They have fed us many meals while we've been home, including tonight's wonderful and delicious "last supper". After dinner, Matt helped me put stuff away and get the car back in the garage. This trip home was wonderful. Short, to be sure, but very sweet. We spent loads of quality time with the newest members of our family, Elle and Aidan. I can't tell you how much the kids and I love these two babies. Julie and Quinn are doing an amazing job juggling the world of newborn twins. We will miss seeing them in person and holding their perfect little selves, but we have vowed to do regular Skype calls to stay visually and verbally in touch while we are away.

My dad flew to Chicago for a visit during our first week home. He was so helpful and really jumped in while I struggled with jetlag and thyroid related fatigue. I am now doing much better, having been to the doctor who adjusted my medication. Thank goodness. The kids loved spending time with Papa and then after he left, Grandma and Grandpa Slaven came through Chicago so we got to see them too. They took the kids to the Art Institute and a special lunch for the walking grandchildren only. Julie and I took the babies to sushi where they slept through the meal and let us have a much needed chat fest.

We saw many, but not all, of the friends I had tried to book plans with. We were treated like royalty with many fabulous meals, good conversation, and we even got a mah jong game in with Amy and Brian. My dad's first. I was practically falling asleep due to the jetlag but I managed to win! Still funny to me that I have yet to play mah jong in China but I continue to train back home in the states. The time flew by and I was grateful for the people we did manage to see.

There were several occasions where I needed help and I got it without much urging. Some highlights: when my car was dead from lack of use, my friend Matt charged it and then gave us a ride into the city so we could see the kids’ new cousins. A stranger signaled me on the highway that my tire was dangerously low. I went to a random tire center and was given air and free advice on what to do while I was driving around for the next day, before I could get the car checked. When I got my eye exam, the salesperson went over and above to get the contacts I needed shipped before I left for China. Sadly, in all the last minute scrambling, I spaced completely and did not pick them up.

We were fed fabulous meals, friends brought me dinner and took me to lunch for much needed catch up time with my girl friends. The kids spent time with many of their good friends and I enjoyed seeing their happy faces being back home with stories to share from their Chinese adventure. I especially loved seeing how outspoken Nathan has become. He often cuts off my conversation to retell it in his own hyperbolic way.

And now we are back! Shanghai is both familiar and oh so foreign after two weeks at home in the US. I felt like a veteran arriving at the Pudong Airport and knowing exactly how to navigate the airport, pick the short line for the health inspection, get through customs without incident and find our luggage with ease. Just a year ago, I had no clue, was totally overwhelmed and frazzled going through these same steps. Of course, a year ago there was no H1N1 Virus so that step is a bit newer. I was traveling without Mark and with two slightly grumped out kids but overall it was manageable.

I had high hopes that our flight home would be uneventful. I am finally Premier status on United, after logging many flights back and forth, but since I was traveling alone with two kids, I was told I could only bring one person to Economy Plus with me. I fought hard, annoyed the customer
Lily Nathan GriffinLily Nathan GriffinLily Nathan Griffin

Nathan loved hanging with his BFFs
service people one after the next until finally they either gave in or took pity on me and gave us a row in Economy Plus. I think this is a good example of advocating for what you need. I needed a bit of extra space so I didn’t feel the need to scream mid-14 hour flight. As it was, I had no space. The extra seat in our row remained empty much of the flight and I was crammed between two very sweet, and highly affectionate sleeping children. I had feet in my face or two heads in my lap the entire flight. My big break was going to get water for tea or going to the bathroom. Of course each time I escaped my close quarters, I returned to find my seat occupied by various kid limbs.

I called a driver I have hired in the past and he agreed to send a van to meet us at PVG. I called him via Skype from home (well my second home across the street at Natalie and Matt’s) and was not totally convinced he understood all my requirements or the timing. I sent him a follow-up text and sure enough, it worked perfectly. I felt like royalty having someone meeting us and our 300 pounds of luggage. We saw our friend Ray at the airport when we came into the greeting hall. He was waiting for his parents who were on the same flight. We knew this but weren’t lucky enough to find them at the airport or on the flight.

While waiting for the elevator with our two overflowing carts of luggage, Nathan was surrounded by a group of adult Chinese people with no bags, no strollers and no obvious reason for waiting for the elevator rather than riding the escalator. I quickly learned they were there simply to stare at Nathan’s blond hair. I was prepared for the re-entry shock (that two weeks of being normal and uninteresting to strangers felt like months). I quickly located Nathan’s brand new cub’s hat from Aunt Julie—a replacement for his prized hat he used when we arrived in Shanghai a year ago—and he secured it atop his head. The group was friendly and fascinated. We wowed them with our comprehension of questions like “how old are you?” and “are these both your kids?” The Mandarin responses came back to us all which was a relief. This brief encounter was a good reminder of what’s to come. Gotta figuratively and literally put on our “guests in a foreign land” hats and get ready to go with the flow.

We arrived home after a lengthy car ride that was pleasant and mostly quiet. Our driver was practicing his English a bit, and while I struggled not to yawn and pass out during his attempt at a question and answer session, we had a bit of a chat and then we were finally home. I knew the streets, I knew the buildings. I was glad not to be nervous this time around. I am curious to see what the next few months bring for the Slavens in Shanghai. I have some ideas. Stay tuned.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

E&EE&E
E&E

Elle and Emily are so great together


12th August 2009

Welcome back there!
We your loyal readers are glad you're blogging again...but your trip home sounds sweet indeed.
13th August 2009

Nice to see you
Thanks for the tip that by subscribing we can get the latest from you. (I trust that you are working with a book editor with all this.) It was good seeing you ever so briefly on this return home. Larry and Carol
13th August 2009

Good seeing you
Great seeing you guys on your visit. Look forward to the next one (see someone does read the blog ;)

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb