Shanghai Nights


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 26th 2008
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a quick three hour train I arrived in Shanghai. But mind you all the power was out at my school before I left and I still hadn't confirmed my reservation at the hostel of my choice. I was a little frantict. And it only took maybe three hours of a taxi ride, wandering and internet cafe searching that I found my abode for the night. I went out that night half wandering half having a destination in mind. I made it to the Bund which I absolutely enjoyed. I love cities at night and this one was no let down. Despite being in high spirits, the walk back sharply turned for the worst. Why, do I think I can find a short cut in a city I just arrived in? Why? What would make me think that? You can't even use many buildings as a reference point because you go one block and they are blocked by another building. It may have been that I hadn't eaten in twelve hours and was a little confused and some how turned that into more confidence than nescessary. But regardless, I got lost. After what seemed like endless searching, I came close to just sitting down. I really wasn't finding my way and the streets of Shanghai aren't scary. I would have been just fine sleeping there. I forced myself to push on and ended up in my bed that night where I half fell asleep listening to drunk neighboors and awful 90's music. I really do love China. And that isn't sarcasim. Really.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

MoiMoi
Moi

As if you were not sure.
Oriental Pearl TowerOriental Pearl Tower
Oriental Pearl Tower

View from the Bund.
One of ManyOne of Many
One of Many

Many tourists here alike to see the view.
Very DistinctVery Distinct
Very Distinct

And that is saying a lot for here.
Funky Restaurant Funky Restaurant
Funky Restaurant

Looked like a ship.
JumbleJumble
Jumble

Things are very jumbled here in China. This kind of shows it.
Old Christian ChurchOld Christian Church
Old Christian Church

I decided while being lost I might as well take a couple pictures.
New and OldNew and Old
New and Old

I cannot take sharp pictures at night without a tripod. It just doesn't work.


26th June 2008

Love it, it looks beautiful at night!!

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.041s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0856s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb