Shanghai All Day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 26th 2008
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This was my one and only full day here in Shanghai, this weekend at least. I woke up early to switch hostels as the night before I was just staying at one I found. After I tried to make my way to the Shanghai Museum. But not after first being stopped countless times and even took up an offer to go with a group of Chinese students my age somewhere. Yes, I had no idea where they were going they just invited me to a showing and I obliged. Turns out is was a tea showing and immediately my heart starting racing. They noticed. They commented on it. It was still fun though. Two of them were English majors and could speak pretty decently but even so there were many cultural and language differences that we laughed a lot. They even had quite the time trying to understand my description of what a strawberry is. They showed me to the Shanghai Museum and I was happy to discover it was free due to the olympics. See, coming at one of the busiest times of China's life is worth something. Saving 20 yuan!
I liked the Museum. I did. But one could only take so many wine and food vessels. The best part was the Olympic exhibit which featured Roman and Greek statues and what not. That exhibit made everything else worth while. Having said that I heard later about the Urban Planning Museum and would have loved to see that especially over the Shanghai Museum.
Following the museum I treated myself to an expensive, by Chinese standards, lunch and dessert! Then found an internet cafe to get a few things done before the show I was going to see that night. The show was an acrobat show and it was great. What some of them could do was outstanding. And I laughed through a lot of it too, which I didn't expect at all. I have videos that you all will have to see later. All in all it was well worth the 150 yuan.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Tea EducatorTea Educator
Tea Educator

She was really sweet and we kept her laughing.
So Many...So Many...
So Many...

They had so many of these. Wine and food vessels. All different but all the same.
Dr. SeussDr. Seuss
Dr. Seuss

Dr. Seuss was not the first to have such an imagination.
Guardian AngelGuardian Angel
Guardian Angel

The description said this was his guardian. So either this human is abusing his guardian or the guardian is abusing the human.
Across From the Centre TheatreAcross From the Centre Theatre
Across From the Centre Theatre

The Centre Theatre is where the acrobat show was at.
Back to Western RealityBack to Western Reality
Back to Western Reality

I was shocked by this bathroom-real toilet, toilet paper provided, privacy, cleanliness and no smell of urine casings. I was a bit uneasy by the luxury of it. I feel more at home in developing countries' bathrooms now.
Neat WaterfallNeat Waterfall
Neat Waterfall

That is the Ritz right there. It's attached to the theatre.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb