HangZhou eh?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
November 30th 2007
Published: December 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

View out window...View out window...View out window...

...of the hallway in our hotel.
Hang Zhou eh? Well it’s the morning of “day 2” here at Hang Zhou and the start of a crazy week that finishes with a trip to Qingdao (back home we call it Tsing Tsao). For those of you who enjoy perusing the “fancy” section of the Brewers Retail that’s where the big Chinese beer comes from. If I understand my history properly the city was ceded to the Germans around the time the Chinese were strong-armed into giving western powers ports for trade (Hong Kong, Macau, etc.) and being German they got right to work building a brewery--and attacking France. I’ll leave the Qingdao stuff for when I actually go, today, is Hang Zhou.

We’re staying at the Xixi Shibajia Hotel, Xixi is the name for the wetlands that this region is built up around, they have been utilized for something like 10000A, originally one lake, it was divided over the years for fish farming and now is thousands of small man made ponds that still produce fish for the region. I was here about a month ago, took a tour and a boat ride around, pretty cool, the most striking thing (that I’ve noticed in most of the
View out window...View out window...View out window...

...of the other end of the hallway in our hotel.
places I’ve gone) is the huge Chinese population, there must have been some large migration in the 70’s or something, it’s like the whole country is like one big China Town! The hotel itself is very nice, I’m off for breakfast in a few minutes, I’ll let you know how it goes.

Yesterday we climbed up a “mountain”, it was no Western Cordillera but pretty good. A crazy drive up, 100 meter sheer drops, switch backs, stray dogs, pretty standard stuff really. The whole area is a bamboo forest which appears to be harvested in much the same way they always must have. What looks like families are simply standing on the side of the road lashing hundreds of bamboo (trunks?) that they’ve cut to their bikes/trucks. The film “Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon” was apparently filmed in these hills (I only saw a “squatting farmer and terrified chicken”, but then I guess my movie would have sucked). There were some lovely waterfalls that I have some pictures of and MONKEYS! Not poor captive monkeys like the one the guy walks on a leash in front of our apartment but monkeys in cages! I stood there with my camera for
View out window...View out window...View out window...

...of my room. In our hotel.
a while hoping to get that $10000 footage of the monkey masturbating or sticking his finger in his bum, smelling it and falling off his branch but alas all they did was sign “please help us” in international sign to me over and over again (I only have a firm grasp of American sign so didn’t fully understand). I guess my meeting Bob Saget will have to wait a little longer.

On a side note, as of today we have had 1000 hits on our blog. We'd like to thank all of you for supporting us and let you know that we are actively looking for advertisers. I have a couple of massage parlours lined up but I think we want to go kind of "up-scale", like KFC.

On a side, side note to the people who operate this site, we are not really looking for advertisers, no matter how tastey and juicy that reasonably priced chicken is at the KFC we know that adverts would be a violation of site policy. If people should happen to call KFC-DLVRY after reading this and order the new 15 piece mega-meal with poutin, chicken fries and brownies for only $19.99,
En RouteEn RouteEn Route

The buses on the way to camp.
we would expect no compensation from KFC or it's parent company MostlyChickenCorp.

Peace out.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

GateGate
Gate

This is the gate at the base of the mountain.
BottomBottom
Bottom

This is on the other side of the gate at the base of the mountain.
Not quite...Not quite...
Not quite...

...the colours of Gatineau but nice.
PondPond
Pond

A Chinese pond. Again, I don't want to sound racist but I find all ponds look alike.
Look backLook back
Look back

The death march.
WaterfallWaterfall
Waterfall

One of the three or four waterfalls we saw. I think this one was called the whispering turtle pond waterfall.
MonkeyMonkey
Monkey

here's the monkey with no clue how to play for the camera.
Who could guess..Who could guess..
Who could guess..

...how the monkey was feeling?!?
Not really related...Not really related...
Not really related...

...to the trip but a neat shot of ladies doing their washing.
The next dayThe next day
The next day

On the rock wall. I believe that's Yuka the "Japanese Snow Monkey".


1st December 2007

student trip
Nice blob, very witty. As usual it takes me at least two readings to really "get" it. Great pics. Keep up the good work.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb