View From The Bus


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
October 14th 2007
Published: October 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I took some shots from the bus on my way home last week. Nothing exciting but this is what I look at everyday while listening to The Hip. I have also included a video of my ride in one of the more speed bump infested complexes (that being said I don't think it worked again).

I'm still recovering from my "almost" all nighter at school so I'm done writing.

Peace out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

How it startsHow it starts
How it starts

This is the view from behind the school when we head home.
Street CornerStreet Corner
Street Corner

The building on the left is under construction. They cover them like that because the workers live in the building while they are working on it.
I Have No IdeaI Have No Idea
I Have No Idea

Like many things here, I have no idea what's behind the curtain. Could be a market, a factory, maybe apartments. Eventually I'll have the Madarin to mosey back and find out.
Wives Are The SameWives Are The Same
Wives Are The Same

This poor guy is just trying to relax and have a Reeb out in front of his shop after a hard days work and nag, nag, nag!
TrustMartTrustMart
TrustMart

This is a Taiwanese department store chain. This one is a couple of blocks from our place and our main grocery store.
Okay This One I KnowOkay This One I Know
Okay This One I Know

Not that I've ever been in but I'm pretty sure this one is a local market.
Not  Very Exciting...Not  Very Exciting...
Not Very Exciting...

...but this is the corner of our street (HongMei) and the elevated expressway. I also have it on good authority that if you dig straight down from this exact point you come out in China!
I Know...I Know...
I Know...

...everybody wants to see pictures with hoards of people (and they are here believe me) but this is the best I've got so far. You think you can do better grab your camera and buy a plane ticket.
Only Interesting...Only Interesting...
Only Interesting...

...Because it's a pretty good looking building. I think this is a car dealership.
Typical...Typical...
Typical...

...Of every street in Shanghai (except those for wastefull foreigners), all shops at streetlevel and apartments above. Our complex has: ~5 restaurants 2 real estate agencies a bank coffee shop manicure place golf shop a bakery travel agency blind massage parlor (you don't have to blind the masseaues[sp?] are) dry cleaners and some fruit vendors.
This Is Me...This Is Me...
This Is Me...

...writing this blog entry.


16th October 2007

great
great blog...looooved the photos...keep up the good work

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb