Adventures in Food Part 1: Shanghai Cuisine


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Pudong
January 6th 2012
Published: January 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

AppetizersAppetizersAppetizers

From left to right: pickled shrimp, escargot-ish thing, raw crab
Last night I had my first of what I assume will be many adventures in food. Some locals from CEIBS took some of the exchange students out for a traditional Shanghai meal. I went in with one rule - if I can eat it, then I will. As I don't eat meat, just fish, seafood, and vegetables I have some built in contstraints but that didn't stop things from getting interesting.

We started off the meal with some raw seafood apetizers (from left to right I was told these were pickled shrimp, something escargot-like, and crab). I have to admit, of all the things I tried these were my least favourite. The crab was good, but the others just didn't do it for me. Fortunately, the same can't be said for the rest of the meal.

When the food started arriving, it never stopped. There were at least 15 dishes to choose from and I tried everyone I could (and usually went back for a second taste). From pickled radish (which I think may become a staple in my life) to eel, I enjoyed everything I tried. I think what surprised me most is my favourite dish, was the
Fried FishFried FishFried Fish

So yummy...
dish that scared me the most - the fried crispy fish. It was delicious, scary for my North American brain that doesn't cope well with fish heads and tails, but delicious none the less. I am looking forward to having it again, I just need to figure out how to order it in Chinese.

After talking with one of the students, I learned that there are "eight culinary traditions of China". A new goal for the next two months is to try every single one. There are still eight to go, as Shanghai cuisine isn't on the list. It should be interesting.

I think the lesson learned is that my new food rule should become a mantra for this trip. If I can eat it, I will eat it. I may regret it, but I probably won't. I'm for sure going ot have some interesting stories.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

??????
???

This was interesting - it was a milkly jello like food, with a really spicy sauce on top.
Desert CongeeDesert Congee
Desert Congee

This was a sweet soup with rice, and balls of rice noodle. Very yummy.
Chinese WineChinese Wine
Chinese Wine

Just your typical 104 proof liquor. Yes we bought the whole bottle.


7th January 2012

All looks wonderful( I think). Glad you enjoyed it all!
You are very adventuresome!!!
10th January 2012

Nice!
Nice

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1178s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb