Back to Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Huangpu
December 14th 2010
Published: December 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

ShanghaiShanghaiShanghai

From the Bund
On Monday we woke up around 7:30 to get ready to go to SFO. We stopped by Burger King on the way and I ate my usual 2 egg and cheese croissanwhichs. I couldn't sleep well the night before either because I was too excited or I was still in the funk of sleeping poorly during finals week. We arrived at the airport a little before 10 am. My parents decided to wait around until 10:30 for the rest of the group. After I said good bye, I checked in at the counter. After the entire group showed up, we went through security. Going through security was definitely more intense than it was the last time I was at the airport. The have this new metal detector that scans your entire body. My 白人的朋友 didn't have to go through it because he "seemed fine". The rest of us minorities had to go through it. How racist is that TSA? Talk about racial profiling. The flight to Shanghai was around 12 hours and 22 minutes. I slept for a good 4 hours and just sat there most of the time. The free alcohol that they serve definitely helped time go by. The
Shanghai No. 1 DispensaryShanghai No. 1 DispensaryShanghai No. 1 Dispensary

Birth Control...Use Protection children
United Airlines flight was a lot faster than the Air China flight that I took back in August, but the service was not as good. Instead of having decent stewardesses to look at I had to look at old bitchy women. On top of that, the food tasted and looked like it just came out of the poop shoot. When I arrived in Shanghai I bought a 50 RMB China Unicom minute card since I only had 59 RMB left on the phone. It was a one hour bus ride from Pudong Airport to the Bund Hotel. The hotel was actually not too far from hostel that I stayed at last summer. The hotel was really nice, but I didn't really like the location since it wasn't really on the Bund. When we arrived at the hotel we had dinner at the hotel restaurant. After that people wanted to rest, but since Sam and I were awake we decided to check out some of my favorite clubs in Shanghai. We had a drink at MUSE and another drink at SKY.
The next day we toured at around Lujiazui where Jinmao tower, the World Finance Center, and the Oriental Pearl tower
PhebePhebePhebe

Bottle Service
are located. A lot of people in our group were amazed by the size of the buildings. It was nice to be able to go into the Oriental Pearl Tower since I've never been inside. They had an elevator that went up to the different "balls" where we were able to take pictures and look at the magnificent view of Shanghai. The Oriental Pearl tower also had a museum exhibition, couple shops, and a rollercoaster for children. The Oriental Pearl tower is very famous and it's the third highest TV tower in the world. We had the opportunity to take pictures around the Bund area where we also had lunch. Next we went to Nanjing Pedestrian Road to visit the No 1. Shanghai Dispensary. It was weird to walk around Nanjing Road as a tourist since that was my usual hang out/meeting place when I studied abroad in 2009. The dispensary was full of traditional medicines, over the counter medication, as well as prescription medications. On the second floor we observed the check out counter where the customer would pay for his/her medications. After a complete payment transaction, the prescription would come down from the 6th floor on a slide. We went up to the 6th floor to observe the dispensing process. I was expecting to see a bunch of workers filling drugs like a sweat shop. Instead we saw this large automated machine that picks drugs and sends them down the slide to the 2nd floor where the customers pick up their drugs. The machine looked like a sealed room with a long hallway full of drugs on shelves. People can't actually go inside the machine to refill the stock. The drugs are sent from the outside and the machine specifically sends the drug to the correct spot on the shelf. So much for having pharmacy technicians!? After visiting the dispensary we had time to walk around the pedestrian road. We had dinner in Yuyuan Garden at the restaurant across from Starbucks coffee and near the famous bridge that leads into the garden. We had 8 hot dishes, 8 cold dishes, and 2 dishes for dessert. Once I get the name from the picture I'll edit this part. We had some free time afterwards to look at shops for souvenirs. It's hard to find things to buy now since I was just in China. I couldn't find any Xi Yang Yang products for my sister, but I helped some people from our group bargain for panda hats. At night time I sent the group to Phebes to party. Phebes is by far my favorite club in Shanghai ever since Tristan and I found it this last summer. I meet up with 2 of my Chinese friends, Minchao and Delia. I met up with Minchao this last summer :-) We decided to go all out, so we had bottle service at a table. Six of us blew a lot of money paying for 2 bottles of Grey Goose, but it was well worth it. It was sad to not be able to stay in Shanghai to hang out with Minchao and Delia, but I was glad that I had the opportunity to see them again.
The next morning we went to left Shanghai to go to Suzhou. We visited the Humble Administrator's Garden and the Han Shan Temple. The Humble Administrators Garden did not change much. I've never been to the Han Shan Temple, so it was nice to be able to see that. The tour group did not take us to the silk factory which was a big surprise for me, but it wasn't like I was going to buy anything there anyways. We had a 4 hour bus ride from Suzhou to Nanjing. When we arrived in Nanjing, we had dinner. I could tell people were starting to get sick of eating Chinese food. The food that we had in Suzhou and Nanjing were a little strange, but I was able to pick out dishes that I liked. A lot of people wanted to go to McDonald's afterwards. I was a little hungry, so I went along with them. Tomorrow we start doing stuff with CPU. I'm looking forward to meeting the students...maybe I'll have more QQ and 人人网 friends after this week V^__^V



Additional photos below
Photos: 65, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Oriental Pearl TowerOriental Pearl Tower
Oriental Pearl Tower

See through floor
The BundThe Bund
The Bund

Me, Jennifer, Sam
Shanghai No. 1 DispensaryShanghai No. 1 Dispensary
Shanghai No. 1 Dispensary

Slide from the 6th flood
Shanghai No. 1 DispensaryShanghai No. 1 Dispensary
Shanghai No. 1 Dispensary

This will replace pharmacy technicians
Shanghai No. 1 DispensaryShanghai No. 1 Dispensary
Shanghai No. 1 Dispensary

Drugs in the machine


31st December 2010

Thanks!
=D You have really good memory. I forgot some of the names of the places that we went to so your blog has been useful in helping me recall them. haha, yay about those panda hats! So sad that they were already cheap in Beijing. -_-

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb