“延长路,上海大学”


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Zhabei
August 13th 2010
Published: January 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Shanghai UniversityShanghai UniversityShanghai University

Convenient store, Xiaolongbiao stand (closed), Green place
The saying "time flies when you are having fun" definitely comes from somewhere. This entry is not much about what I have done while I've been staying in Shanghai, but more of what I have learned from it. Tomorrow will be my last day to do last minute shopping and packing, so there really is not much left for me to talk about. When I came home last year after studying abroad here at Shanghai University, I realized that I had no pictures to go along with the places that I mentioned and frequently missed around where I stayed. Those places were a part of my daily life and it never seemed to cross my mind to stop and take a photo of them because one day that place might not be the same. Anyone who decides to study in a foreign country for an extended period of time should definitely cherish every moment of it. You may return to that country/city a year later for vacation or to work, but that place will not be the same for one reason--the people that you were with to share that experience with. It's amazing to think that I've already finished 3 semesters
Shanghai UniversityShanghai UniversityShanghai University

To get to the dorms you past this
of pharmacy school and am at the end of my vacation here in China. I have already visited my friend Silas in Beijing; Xuzhi is already settled in England; and Maruyi is on the plane back to the United States. While I was going through finals week all I could think about was partying and partying and partying in Shanghai. To be honest, I did party quite a bit in China, but not to an extreme. It's definitely hard to go out without all of the USACers around wanting to go out, when it is just you. This was not entirely a bad thing. I feel like I had equal amounts of spending time for myself away from school, spending time catching up with old friends, spending time partying, spending time shopping, and spending time speaking Chinese.
Within one year, Shanghai has changed a lot due to the 2010 World Expo. The slogan for the Shanghai World Expo is 城市,让生活更美好,which translates to "Better City, Better Life". Clubs are not open as late as they used to; prostitution is not so open as it was a year ago; there are a lot less street vendors and DVD vendors; and there are
Shanghai UniversityShanghai UniversityShanghai University

Pass where I had Chinese Culture class
a lot more expats. Yanchang is a stretch away from the Expo but has still been impacted by it. When I first arrived to Yanchang Campus, I noticed that the atmosphere of Yanchang Road was a lot different. There were a lot more people walking around during the day and a lot of the old shops from last year have been replaced with new stores and restaurants. My favorite bubble tea shop across from the entrance of campus has changed to a new company and has a new owner. The feeling of being able to go to that shop and talk with the owner behind the counter was no longer there. Last year on Yanchang Road there was a shop that was a restaurant by day and a DVD store by night. I remember I asked the owner 你有没有黄色电影?(Do you have adult movies?) and from that moment on, every time I walked by he would ask me if I wanted adult movies and laugh. This year that store no longer exists. Luckily, my favorite place ("the Green Place") to eat lunch around the back of campus is still there. Before arriving to Shanghai, I told myself that I would eat at the xiaolongbao stand next to that restaurant everyday. I've only been able to eat at that stand on the day that I arrived to the dorms. After that, they have been closed since the workers left for vacation.
Campus is still the same. When I walked through campus the first time, I passed the big rock and faced the large field in the middle. The one thing that I remember when I look at that field is when Josh bought a box a fireworks for Chinese New Years and we lit them up. As I approach the entrance of the dorms I remembered arriving there for the first time in a packed van from the group flight. I remember sitting in the lobby with my luggage waiting to find out that my room was on the 5th floor. I remember going to the convenient store in the lobby to buy beer for 4 RMB before going out with friends. I remember coming back to campus drunk late at night and going to Lawson's across the street to buy even more beer. I remember going to the building across the dorms once every week for Tai Chi class where we
Shanghai UniversityShanghai UniversityShanghai University

then you see this
would all laugh at each other. I remember doing Tai Chi as a class in front of the dorms while everyone was watching us.
My two favorite restaurants in Daning Plaza are still there--Saizeriya and Ajisen Ramen. The gym that I used to go to (Star Gym) is still there, but has a new entrance. RT mart is still the same.
You can return back to a place that you've been to once before, but you cannot re-live an experience, no matter how hard you try. This not only applies to the study abroad experience, but also other experiences in life. Only when time has passed will you realize how valuable that experience was with the most important part being the people you shared that experience with. My two weeks in Shanghai is a different experience within itself that cannot be re-lived. I definitely enjoyed spending time with some friends that I made last year such as Xuzhi, Silas, Tristan, Kiana, and Minchao. I also made new friends such as Maruyi, Jonathan (from USAC Fall '08), and Ying Ying, during my 2 weeks here. Traveling around alone was a first for me, but I feel like I have grown mentally
Shanghai UniversityShanghai UniversityShanghai University

And you're at the dorms!
from it. The next time I return to Shanghai, the city will change even more and I will not be able to re-live spring 2009 or summer 2010, only value the time and enjoy spending time with the people that I'm with.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Shanghai UniversityShanghai University
Shanghai University

Turn around 180 degrees and you will see where I had Tai Chi classes
Shanghai UniversityShanghai University
Shanghai University

Classroom where I did homework
Shanghai UniversityShanghai University
Shanghai University

Classroom where I did homework. USACers had a drinking night here too!
Shanghai UniversityShanghai University
Shanghai University

Where I had Chinese class and calligraphy
Shanghai UniversityShanghai University
Shanghai University

Where Josh lit his fireworks on Chinese New Years in 2009
Shanghai UniversityShanghai University
Shanghai University

International dorm lobby with convenient store to the left
DaningDaning
Daning

My old gym
DaningDaning
Daning

Ajisen Ramen
DaningDaning
Daning

Saizeriya
DaningDaning
Daning

RT mart
Yanchang RoadYanchang Road
Yanchang Road

Subway stop


Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0854s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb