I can't believe I'm in China!!!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Changning
September 14th 2012
Published: September 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday Morning, Sept 12

The big day has arrived! I can hardly believe that I’m writing this blog as I wait in the terminal to board my first plane. I will be flying to Chicago where I will catch my connecting flight to Shanghai. This week has been a roller coaster. Last minute Visas and Airline tickets but as always the good Lord works things out.

Today has been a day full of tears and laughter. I know I am doing the best thing for my family. A good job, great benefits, and the opportunity to experience such a unique culture….but it was awfully hard to walk through security as my boys waved bye with tears rolling down their cheeks. I cried all through security. When I finally got through the checkpoint I found a glass window and we were able to see each other and talk on the phone. I don’t know if that made it worse or better.

Friday Sep 14

Good Morning from Shanghai! Did I just write that!!!! It is Friday at 6:30 in the morning. I basically lost a day in travel. I am feeling better this morning after skyping, emailing and texting my family. I LOVE technology. It helps so much that I can see their faces and hear them at the same time.

Disney was right on target. I had a car waiting with my name on it and I met my first co-worker on the ride home from the airport. My hotel room is little but very nice. When I got to my hotel room, I crashed. The flight was very nice but lllloooonnnngggg. I am not looking forward to that again. I have met 4 more people that are here with Disney English as well. I was getting hungry but a little nervous to venture out on my own at night. Luckily there were 2 other people that felt the same way. I met them in the lobby. The first was from Los Angeles and he has spent the past couple of years teaching in Italy. The second was a girl from South Africa who has spent the last couple of years teaching in Korea. We were all hesitant and nervous about the food but we went for a walk and found a nice looking place. Once inside they had the food sitting where you could just point to it. J I choose noodles and beef. They put it inside some sort of broth. The broth had a minty, cilantro taste to it. I do admit it is not my favorite but it worked to subdue the hunger.

I was up early at 5:30. Couldn’t sleep any longer. I got up and skyped with my DH, DS1, DS2 and MIL. Then heading to the lobby. There is Wi-Fi in the lobby but nowhere else so I went and sat on the couch to text all my people back home.

I am an animal lover and I had to leave my precious pugs in the states to come out here. When I was in the lobby I noticed a man walking by with a pug!!! Of course I darted off the couch and out the door. When the man realized I was excited about his dog he let me pet it and we tried to talk...I think we were a little successful! This made my morning better. Even though it was not my puggies it was a little piece of home.

Got to go for now. I am due in orientation this morning! More to come….

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb