Busy days


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong
July 31st 2005
Published: July 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Another update from the school computer, but I think I will be getting a laptop sometime this week. Crossing my fingers at least. Daphne said she will take me.

Yesterday I worked for three hours in the morning at the JAC, then I came back to the school and went for lunch with Duncan at Jenny's cafe, which is a Western food cafe that doesn't have the greatest food but is at least familiar. I had fettucini alfredo and a vanilla milkshake, both slightly on the expensive side in chinese standards, but worth it for a taste of home. I am getting the worst cravings here for Western food, worse than the ones I get at home. All I wanted the other night was grapes!!
After lunch we went to the U-mart, which is a Western market owned by the same people that own Jenny's, and then to the RT-Mart which is a Chinese market. The meat section there is just bizarre, it's just big slabs and sides of meat hanging in the open. Anyone could walk by and sneeze on them. I think I saw a durian (that really foul smelling fruit) but I am not going to try it just yet. I'll keep my promise though Kelly, I will try it and I'll get pictures! We live turtles in bags for sale (to eat) and all kinds of strange fish and eels. There was a big tank of live frogs and Duncan dared me to just reach in and grab one but I am too afraid of disease and stuff. haha.
We went back to David's because it was his 35th birthday, and Duncan and David made burritos, and the three of us and David's girlfriend Julie watched Lost Boys and The Machinist. We had blueberry cake and whipped cream. Yumm.

This morning, I woke up later (8:30) because it is my day off. I cleaned the bathroom, mopped all of the floors, cleaned the couch (with a stiff bristled brush, just to get some dust out), and then had a shower and got ready. Now I am at the school, emailing and updating here, and I am going to call home soon. I don't think Mom and Dad will be home because it is there anniversary but maybe Andrea will be home. Later today I will be signing a contract with Richard and Jenny (the owner of the school) so I will know when my last day here is (no later than January 19, 2006), then Sarah is going to help me buy a phone card chip so I can use the cell phone, and I might go shopping with Snow for some things (a plant, some candles, a purse, some mouthwash, vitamins, and a lighter, haha). I also want to see Daphne's laptop so I know what I will want to buy later this week. Daphne will move in sometime this week too, I think. I just need to make the bed up.

Anyways, life in Jinan gets neither easier or harder. Some days I am strong and confident, feeling independent and so greatful for this opportunity for self-expansion and so willing and eager to learn. Other days, I am reminded how far from home I really am, and how alone and weak I feel here. At least I know there is somewhat of a balance that can be achieved.

Anyways, I'm off to call home.

Write me emails! I miss you all!!

All my love,
Laura


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb