Party and Another Day in Jinan


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong
July 30th 2005
Published: July 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Another quick update...

Last night we had a student/teacher “party” at a nearby hotel… we all walked over around 6:30 and it was set up pretty much as a big publicity event… all on tape. All of the foreign teachers had to introduce themselves, so I threw in “Hi, my name is Laura and I’m from Canada, eh?” hehe. I had to. There were all kinds of games… karaoke (some in English, some in Chinese), a play that Peter organized… a tug of war (teachers won! I got rope burn on my arm!) and my game of music chairs that I WON! Haha. But there were some prizes given out at the end too, and one of them was a big stuffed bear that I had been eyeing all night.. and it went to the person whose game was the most popular. Everybody cheered for me!!! So I won the bear which made me so, so happy because now I have something to sleep with at night and cry to when I am sad (I am such a girl). Anyways after the party, everyone wanted their pictures taken with teachers, especially me and Peter. Strange.

Peter went home because he was tired and needed to pack up (he left this morning) but Duncan, David, Daphne and I went to “the Pyramid”… this club that is popular in Jinan. I was worried because I didn’t want to be around a lot of people in a smoky room (there is no such thing as a “non smoking section” here…) and really hot. But we went early enough that it was okay… it was more like a lounge, lots of tables with candles and a live band from the Phillipines singing English music. Daphne and I shared a cheese and mushroom pizza and everyone had a beer or two. We left around 11:30 and went to this little BBQ close to the school… they’re open all night and they BBQ mutton on old bicycle spokes. Kind of glad I don’t eat sheep. I didn’t stay long there, walked home, had a shower, and went to bed.

Still not sleeping well.

Peter left early this morning… and I think Daphne will be moving in on Sunday afternoon. That is, if she thinks she can handle the HARD bed… I switched the mattresses in our rooms because Peter’s is about an inch thick and hard as rock, so the one I will be sleeping on is soft(er), has a blanket under the sheets, plus a few pillows and another blanket… and unless Daphne has stuff of her own, she might not be able to survive sleeping on that other bed for a month. We’ll see. I hope she can tough it because I still don't want to live alone. Not just yet.

Today is a long day for me. I have to be at the school at 7:30 to a get a ride to the JAC by 8:00, teach 8:30-11:40, come back to the school. Leave again at 1:30 (soon actually) to go to Young pioneers and teach 2:30 to 5:30, then home. 10 hour day and I only get paid for 6. And everyone else gets weekends off. And it's a long weekend at home. Boo on China.

We might go to the Pyramid tonight again (just for a little while and not too late because I have to be here at 7:30 again tomorrow morning) but they are having a reggae night and I think that would be good for me, to get out and do some spirit-raising dancing. Or just to chill to some reggae tunes.

I have Monday off, but have a few plans. I'm going to be calling home, and I'm sitting down with Richard to go over and sign an actual contract (I will then know my official last day in Jinan and can begin the real countdown). I also want to do a bit of sight-seeing and maybe shopping with Snow (my children's classes assistant).

I'll be getting a phone on Monday.. just to use in China, but I can also use my phone card to call home, and having a cell means I can call from home so I don't have to come to the school. I'll also be getting a laptop hopefully early next week. Once all of that is in order, I think I will be a lot saner.

I still miss home, more than I ever thought I would, but the reality of 6 months in China is setting in. I know I can do it.

Miss you all, love you all even more.

love Laura



Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb